1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC68U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.32738

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by Squall Leonhart, Aug 15, 2018.

  1. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    46
    Version 3.0.0.4.384.32738
    2018/08/15
    42.54 MBytes

    AiMesh new features
    - Supported creating mesh system with new router, BlueCave.
    - Added Roaming block list in Advanced Settings --> Wireless.
    You can add devices into block list and this device will not be roamed between AiMesh nodes.
    - Supported ethernet onboarding. User can use ethernet cable.
    You can use ethernet cable to connect AiMesh router LAN port and AiMesh node WAN port first and run the adding node process to build the mesh system.
    Security fixes.
    - Fixed Reflected XSS vulnerability.
    - Fixed CSRF vulnerability.
    - Fixed command injection vulnerability.
    - Fixed stack buffer overflow vulnerability.
    Thanks for Rick Ramgattie contribution.
    Fixed USB hard drive over 2TB compatibility issues.
    Fixed Samba/FTP folder permission issues.
    Added USB3.0/2.0 mode switch setting in Administration --> System --> USB Settings.

    Please unzip the firmware file first then check the MD5 code.
    MD5: 665734b95c47f43c53804ca0c574013f
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC68U/FW_RT_AC68U_300438432738.ZIP
     
    JonathanL, Gitsum and HowIFix like this.
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. WillyTP

    WillyTP Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Looks good, however still no Guest Wifi network support between nodes...
    For my needs this is the biggest lack.
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    same to me ...

    AND Smart Connect if someone got a parent router with this option to have it on nodes without it too.
     
  5. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    214
    I doubt you'll see it any time soon. To many technical hurdles with the existing ASUSWRT framework to enforce isolation with the other traffic.
    As a workaround, I bought a cheap ($20) TP-Link range extender and configured it to repeat a Guest SSID to remote parts of my home. It works really well for my needs. My goal was supporting IoT devices that I don't trust on my regular wifi LAN. All I need is 2.4Ghz and moderate bandwidth, so bought the N300 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0195Y0A42/?tag=snbforums-20
     
  6. WillyTP

    WillyTP Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Until a few time ago I used Tomato on both in order to get guest network working on both routers,
    plus guest ethernet ports too. Surely more advanced, but it needed a much more complicated setup.
    AiMesh would be super compared to it.
     
  7. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    214
    Oh, with ASUS firmware you can just set-up as an AP instead of AiMesh node and configure Guests on all components but there is no traffic isolation on the APs. For example, using a Guest login (SSID) through an AP you can log-in to the router's web gui, or access anything else on your LAN. Some may want that but it violates a major feature of having Guest logins. It is only with AiMesh that ASUS made the right decision (security wise) to not propagate Guest SSIDs to nodes.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  8. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Installed on my AC68U rev B1. Everything I use is working fine. I just wish https admin for the router would load faster. It is so slow.
     
  9. Flying Dutchman

    Flying Dutchman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Same for me!
     
    bachastain likes this.
  10. bacon612

    bacon612 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    i loaded this up about a week ago and have noticed that my Android drops wifi intermittently every 10 mins or so. i use a 3100 as a main router and two 68u nodes. Going to go back to the last firmware and see if it fixes my problem.
     
  11. Trial_Master

    Trial_Master Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Does anyone have some information on Roaming Block List?

    I’d like to understand how it’s intended to behave. I personally would like to lock a doorbell to satellite node as the doorbell can see primary node too and last I tried AiMesh it kept hanging onto weaker primary node?
     
    tallytr likes this.
  12. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    Per client to disable Roaming Assistant.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2018
  13. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    tallytr likes this.
  14. stan79

    stan79 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I have 2 x AC68Us connecting via wireless for AiMesh. I realised that everything when there is a new firmware releases, the AiMesh connectivity is good and in fact this new firmware it is the most stable one.

    However, things start to change after 1-2 days of usages where the clients will be kicked out every few minutes to few hours (not fix timing or patterns) and not able to connect back to the node till x no of minutes later (for the much older firmware, you probably got to reboot the node for the client to reconnect). No issue on the router side. Rebooting the router and node do help a bit but very soon, the problem will come back again.

    I did tried to remove the node, re-initialize the router and node and even change the router to become a node and vice versa. The same problem will surface. I disabled explicit beamforming etc as mentioned in the older threads but yet no stability after 1-2 days of usage.

    I guess I'm going back to use my TP-Link Wifi Repeater which is much much more stable (almost zero disconnection) instead of AiMesh. Perhaps AC68U is too old n slow.
     
    Grisu likes this.
  15. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    known issue
     
  16. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    595
    When you met, could you send feedback with system log, wifi log by Administration -> Feedback?
     
  17. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    "AiMesh new features
    You can use ethernet cable to connect AiMesh router LAN port and AiMesh node WAN port first and run the adding node process to build the mesh system."

    Just to clarify. Right now I have 2 RT-AC68U that are in AP mode and not AiMesh.

    Is this saying if (1) they have most recent FW and (2) are connected from LAN port on first AC68U to WAN port of second AC68U then all I have to do is run adding node? Am I missing some steps or is it that simple.

    Please note I've been know to have Senior's Moments.
     
  18. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. It means that when building an AiMesh with wired backhauls, router LAN to node WAN, you can add the node to the AiMesh without having to temporarily relocate the node to be very near the router. Saves having to haul wired nodes around.

    OE
     
    tallytr and mrbrimi like this.
  19. mrbrimi

    mrbrimi New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks, it just looked too good to be true.
     
  20. stan79

    stan79 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    H
    How to send just the wifi log?
     
  21. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    When using feedback function it will send by default, but for me feedback function in this firmware not work. (86u)
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!