1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-AC86U - connectivity and memory usage

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by BlueOrbit, Mar 2, 2018.

  1. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    Just got this new router to replace my trusty RT-AC68U which was just about flawless in 3 years I used it. I upgraded the firmware to the latest 3.0.0.4.384_20308 version and restored the settings from a backup file from AC68U.

    I am noticing that this router is using a lot of RAM (85%) in comparison to my AC68U (about 65%), even though it has 512 MB vs 256 MB for AC68U. Also, noticing intermittent drops in connectivity on some clients for brief periods of time.

    Anyone experiencing the same issues? Do I need to check any of the advanced settings?
     
    Vincent Wong likes this.
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Memory usage is normal for that model.

    Also, you should NOT restore settings from a different model.
     
    joegreat likes this.
  4. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,650
    Location:
    United States
    Can't do that.....you need to factory reset and configure manually.
     
  5. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    Hmm, I read somewhere that restoring settings from another model that is AC rated is not a problem. But, will follow your advice and configure manually.

    I really want to like this router and need it to be stable.

    Thanks!
     
  6. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    Ok, factory reset the router and configured everything manually. Looks like the connectivity issues are resolved. Memory usage is at 79%.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2018
  7. maxbraketorque

    maxbraketorque Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    422
    My AC86U is sitting at 55% but with none of the options enabled (no QOS, no AiProtection, no Traffic Analyzer, no Game Boost, no USB). What options do you have enabled?
     
  8. iceorbital

    iceorbital Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    being an entirely new platform, uses more memory. merlin confirmed that in some other thread. No issues with your unit.
     
  9. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    I have everything enabled including Parental Controls, but no Game Boost. Looks like these options might use more RAM.
     
  10. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    its normal :)
    86u_ram.png
     
  11. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    AiMesh and most other options turned on, except Game Boost. RAM usage is high, but as you guys mentioned, I will consider it normal :)

    RAM Usage.png
     
  12. vango44

    vango44 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Ai Protection & QOS stuff enabled...

    [​IMG]
     
    arthurlien likes this.
  13. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    604
    Could you provide Model, FW version or send feedback with system log, wifi log and cfg file by feedback function ? please add you SNB post URL and Nickname in suggestion field.
     
  14. lostindark

    lostindark Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    I can't understand why is so hard to build Asus router and when you open the box, make settings and just to work without to read all the forums and to makes some tricks to work? I've order ac86u to replace my quantenna router ac87u with all issues of it and now understand that is another disappointment..

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
  15. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    @lostindark
    what problem do you have ? My 86u work ok, have some bugs, but is fast and stable with very good coverage.
    For configurnig i not need read forums. If You want open the box and forget, then take router/modem from your isp without advanced features.

    It's simlpy.
     
    lostindark likes this.
  16. Latzz

    Latzz Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    35
    Seems that way.

    The latest flash with 384.20308

    1. Immediately after flash, initialise and setup, 115MB free
    2. One day later free memory fluctuates between 30MB and 50MB
    3. After formating the USB flashdrive attached, free memory went from 50MB to 141MB.


    Update a day later. Free memory is down to 130MB. Not concerned even if the memory goes to zero given how the operating system handles it. Just curious why the flashdrive format free up the memory.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
  17. mustafa803

    mustafa803 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    I just came across this thread now...

    I noticed the same issue with the RAM with the AC86U....I even posted a thread looking for explanations...

    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-rt-ac86u-ram-issues.44813/

    I read a post by Merlin somewhere in this forum where he mentioned that Broadcom reserves around 60MB of RAM....That is why we only have access to 430MB...
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  18. lostindark

    lostindark Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    Thanks but I speak generally.. that you buy router and after that show is on .. something goes wrong and you have to read some forums .. Thanks to Merlin that his magic is working and the routers works but I don't see the point to buy something new and to read why memory is full , why my wifi connection is dropping.. routers must working as the manufacturer is promised.

    Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
     
    VANT likes this.
  19. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    Updated to version 3.0.0.4.384_20467. AiMesh is on, most everything else is on, except Game mode. Also, have USB2 and USB3 drives plugged in. RAM usage remains high, but I will consider it normal unless someone tells me otherwise.

    RAM Usage.png
     
  20. lostindark

    lostindark Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    137
    I've updated to latest version (3.0.0.4.384_20467) than reset the router and make all settings again.
    With TrendMicro security On, OpenVPN , USB 3G as failover, DDNS service ON, guest network On at 2.4 G .. I have 70% used memory..
     
  21. BlueOrbit

    BlueOrbit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    California
    I had about the same RAM usage as you (around 70%), until I plugged in 2 USB drives. I suspect the USB drivers somehow use a lot of RAM. If you can try to plug in 2 USB drives and report back, it would be helpful.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!