1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC86U Firmware version RT-AC86U_3.0.0.4.384.32797

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by LimJK, Aug 24, 2018.

  1. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Singapore
    :)

    For those who cannot wait ... I did the update through GUI, just installed. I will add the Release notes when it becomes available on the website.

    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC86U/FW_RT_AC86U_300438432797.zip

    Version 3.0.0.4.384.32797
    2018/08/24 59.86 MBytes
    ASUS RT-AC86U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.32797
    AiMesh new features
    - Supported creating mesh system with new router, BlueCave.
    - Added Roaming block list in Advanced Settings --> Wireless.
    You can add devices into block list and this device will not be roamed between AiMesh nodes.
    - Supported ethernet onboarding. User can use ethernet cable.
    You can use ethernet cable to connect AiMesh router LAN port and AiMesh node WAN port first and run the adding node process to build the mesh system.

    Security fixes.
    - Fixed Reflected XSS vulnerability.
    - Fixed CSRF vulnerability.
    - Fixed command injection vulnerability.
    - Fixed stack buffer overflow vulnerability.
    Thanks for Rick Ramgattie contribution.

    Fixed Adaptive QoS upload bandwidth setting issue.
    Fixed 4-wires ethernet cable compatibility issues.
    Fixed USB hard drive over 2TB compatibility issues.
    Fixed Samba/FTP folder permission issues.
    Added USB3.0/2.0 mode switch setting in Administration --> System --> USB Settings.

    Please unzip the firmware file first then check the MD5 code.
    MD5: 0d22564746bd9d10251624c72475058e
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2018
    HowIFix likes this.
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    my 86u see
    3.0.0.4.384.32797

    Changelog
    Code:
    Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384_32797
    - Release Note - 
    
    AiMesh new features:
    - Supported creating mesh system with new router, BlueCave.
    - Added Roaming block list in Advanced Settings --> Wireless.
      You can add devices into block list and this device will not be roamed between AiMesh nodes.
    - Supported ethernet onboarding. User can use ethernet cable.
      You can use ethernet cable to connect AiMesh router LAN port and AiMesh node WAN port first and run the adding node process to build the mesh system.
    
    Security fixes:
    - Fixed Reflected XSS vulnerability.
    - Fixed CSRF vulnerability.
    - Fixed command injection vulnerability.
    - Fixed stack buffer overflow vulnerability.
      Thanks for Rick Ramgattie contribution.
    
     Bug fixes and enhancements: 
    - Fixed Adaptive QoS upload bandwidth setting issue.
    - Fixed 4 wires ethernet cable compatibility issues.
    - Fixed USB hard drive over 2TB compatibility issues.
    - Fixed Samba/FTP folder permission issues.
    - Added USB3.0/2.0 mode switch setting in Administration --> System --> USB Settings.
     
    HowIFix likes this.
  4. LimJK

    LimJK Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Singapore
    Vant,
    Thanks ... I have corrected the title :)
     
  5. apotts

    apotts Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Hmm.

    Updated yesterday. The overnight auto-reboot killed everything. The 86U and the nodes all needed a power cycle to get things working again this morning. Will monitor...
     
  6. scope666

    scope666 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    So I'm assuming the Roaming Block List feature will pin a client to the main router and prevent it from roaming to any nodes. Wondering if there will be a way to pin a client to a node?

    Also it's capped at 3, that's very strange:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    What I understood they still can connect where they want to, only roaming assistant wont actively move them from one to another.
     
  8. scope666

    scope666 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Interesting, that would be useful for devices that don't physically move. It's a shame its limited to 3 devices though.
     
  9. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    max limit is 64

    123.png
     
  10. scope666

    scope666 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    The UI is capping it at 3 ... check out my screenshot above.
     
  11. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    i see, but i think its a gui bug.
    Report this using Feedback function from router menu.
     
    SadikP likes this.
  12. Treadler

    Treadler Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    South Australia
    This has been an intermittent fault (seen here) on both OE & Merlin firmware for some while now.
    Scheduling, both of reboots, or wireless, seems a little unreliable.
    Can run fine for a few days, then, ooops......
     
  13. apotts

    apotts Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    I know - but the last firmware was fine. Auto-rebooted nightly for a month. As soon as this f/w went in, it all fell apart again.
     
  14. Treadler

    Treadler Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    South Australia
    You were just fortunate. ;-)
    The fault appears to be intermittent, sometimes it’s ok for a while, other times crashes daily. YMMV.
     
  15. Peter Olsen

    Peter Olsen New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Is the download down for anyone else? Cant seem to grab the file. Not working through asus support page or directly through router either....
     
  16. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
  17. Peter Olsen

    Peter Olsen New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    6
  18. BobbyFlobby

    BobbyFlobby Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    This seemed to fix a few annoying issues i had with AiMesh and a Shield TV.
    The Shield kept dropping from the meshed router, but with this update, everything is finally working as per normal.
    This is the best mesh firmware to date for me.
     
    mromero likes this.
  19. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    USA
    I have a 2xRT-AC86U AiMesh with a wireless backhaul. I recently installed another 2xRT-AC86U AiMesh at another location. After upgrading to 32797, we discovered that speed tests on several wireless PC clients at the node yielded irregular results. Some results were nearly normal, but then the throughput would jump around and fall off... sometimes it would not complete (socket error). This is after repeating the test multiple times in succession.

    I spent today re-configuring my system more than once. I re-installed with plenty of resets, initialization, and power cycles. I swapped router and node. I installed a temporary wired backhaul. And I speed tested with a wired PC from both router and node. Performance was normal at the router for all clients. Performance was normal at the node for wired clients with wired and wireless backhauls. The problem affects only wireless clients at the node regardless of backhaul type. Three 86Us were tested at two locations (same ISP, different cable modems) and all three as nodes exhibited the issue.

    So, I downgraded to the previous release 21140 and now the speed tests for a wireless client at the node are normal. I think the release notes indicate that 32797 is a significant change, and I think something was been broken... I will hold at 21140.

    Update 9/15/2018: This AiMesh defect remains in firmware 3.0.0.4.384_32799.

    Update 9/22/2018: Here's a similar problem post:
    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-aimesh-causes-almost-no-2-4ghz-throughput.48971/

    OE
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2018 at 5:15 PM
  20. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    717
    Location:
    Poland
    my 86 sometimes loses the node. I have to manually restore the noda factory settings and add it again. This was not the case before.
    In addition, it sometimes shows that the wan is disconnected, but everything works fine. Then I have to reset to the default settings to show correctly connection status.
     
  21. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    USA
    The way I see it, this issue was easy to replicate on a different set of 86Us and easy to eliminate by downgrading the firmware. I think ASUS should pull firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32797 for the 86U.

    OE
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!