1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-AC86U - Running Diversion + Skynet + Stubby - connection problems

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Blackbox, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Hey guys,

    I am having some connection problems with my setup and hope someone can help me here.

    I am using a RT-AC86U with the latest Merlin Firmware (384.9) and I also use the latest Diversion, Skynet and Stubby. After setting up the system with all the above it works flawless for a few days.

    However after 3 or 4 days I start to have serious connection problems, while not making any changes to the initial setup which worked.

    What happens after a few days is that the connection drops and I cannot reconnect and in the Merlin router menu the internet status is shown as "Disconnected".

    I double checked all the entries and everything is exactly the same as it was in the initial setup (DNS server, entries in Diversion, Skynet etc). Also the VPN Client says it is connected, while the internet status shows the whole system is disconnected.

    So it must be something that occurs over time, in my case a few days.

    I already tried to restart the router, but the problem stays. Sometimes I am able to connect and then a few minutes later all of a sudden the connection gets slower and becomes buggy until it completely drops and I cannot connect anymore.

    Did anyone experience the same behaviour with the same setup?
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
  2. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    UPDATE: Went back to Firmware 384.8_2 as 384.9 clearly has bugs!
     
  3. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,683
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Any clues in stslog?
     
  4. PeterV

    PeterV Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Ukraine, Kyiv
    I have a similar setup.
    Please check two things:
    1. Does dns service is working? Simple do a command "nslookup www.google.com", for example.
    2. Check with top, what process use most CPU resources. In my case it was usb_something(I'm not in home, and can't check now).

    In the same time I expirienced the dhcp functionality issues (my TV panel received answer from dnsmasq with to big delay, and in fact said - no dhcp in the network).
    After entering the static IP in thoe TV settings it works without any problems ...

    Disabling Diversion solved this problem temporary (Diversion significantly increasy read from the USB due to blacklists).
    Reboot is solved this issue fully, and Diversion was swithced on again.

    Now I established some monitoring for this usb service, to see, what will happen later.
     
    Blackbox likes this.
  5. consorts

    consorts Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    140
    it would help if you could clarified if your problems are wired or wireless or both.

    i had the same symptoms a few months ago, but it was only over the wireless radios.
    this was due to incorrect "professional" page wireless settings.

    when it happens to everything and your cpu% gets high,
    it was due to skynet and diversion not syncing their lists properly.
     
    heysoundude and Blackbox like this.
  6. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Disable network monitoring. Located in Administration System in 384.9. Sounds counter intuitive but works for me!

    Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
     
    Blackbox and bearever like this.
  7. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks for the responses!

    @bbunge since I rolled back to Firmware 384.8_2 I cannot disable network monitoring.

    Even with version 384.8_2 I still have exactly the same symptoms!

    After one day web access becomes incredibly buggy, sometimes it finds webpages, sometimes it does not connect to certain websites, but only to a few.

    Really not sure what causes this.

    Does it help if I post parts of the system log, if so what part?

    @consorts I am mainly on Wifi but will explore cable connection too!
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  8. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Yes you can disable Network Monitoring in 384.8. Look in Tools - Other Settings (if I remember correctly) near the bottom.
     
    Blackbox likes this.
  9. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Under Tools/Other Settings I only find these:

    [​IMG]


    Do I disable it by disabling "WAN: Use DNS probes to determine if WAN is up"?
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  10. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    819
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    I remember the setting was there on my RT-AC66U_B1. The AC86U may not have had that setting or it is in another place. Easy enough to go back to 384.9 as Network Monitoring is in Administration - System...
     
    bearever likes this.
  11. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44

    Thanks @consorts, so far I am using a wired connection and it seems to have no issues (will see how it goes for a few days).

    However, could you let me know how you solved your issue with Wifi in detail please?
     
  12. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks @martinr but where do I find sts logs?
     
  13. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44

    Thanks @PeterV DNS service is working, where do I find which process uses how much CPU in the router?
     
  14. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Here is the syslog, just before the connection dropped again... :(

    Code:
    Feb 13 22:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Control Channel: TLSv1.2, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384, 2048 bit RSA
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: TLS: soft reset sec=0 bytes=55710257/-1 pkts=123369/0
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: depth=1, C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=ExpressVPN CA, [email protected]
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: nsCertType=SERVER
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY X509NAME OK: C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=Server-3826-0a, [email protected]
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: depth=0, C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=Server-3826-0a, [email protected]
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Outgoing Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Incoming Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
    Feb 13 23:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Control Channel: TLSv1.2, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384, 2048 bit RSA
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: depth=1, C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=ExpressVPN CA, [email protected]
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: nsCertType=SERVER
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY X509NAME OK: C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=Server-3826-0a, [email protected]
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: VERIFY OK: depth=0, C=VG, ST=BVI, O=ExpressVPN, OU=ExpressVPN, CN=Server-3826-0a, [email protected]
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Outgoing Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Incoming Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
    Feb 14 00:08:28 ovpn-client1[1680]: Control Channel: TLSv1.2, cipher TLSv1/SSLv3 ECDHE-RSA-AES256-GCM-SHA384, 2048 bit RSA
    Feb 14 00:19:42 kernel: ^[[0;33;45mBroadcom Packet Flow Cache HW acceleration disabled.^[[0m
    Feb 14 00:19:42 kernel: Disabled Runner binding to Flow Cache
    Feb 14 00:19:42 kernel: Init chrdev /dev/detector with major 190
    Feb 14 00:19:42 kernel: tdts: tcp_conn_max = 8000
    Feb 14 00:19:42 kernel: tdts: tcp_conn_timeout = 300 sec
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: SHN Release Version: 2.0.1 3529123_patch
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: UDB Core Version: 0.2.14 r3529123
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: Init chrdev /dev/idpfw with major 191
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: IDPfw: flush fc
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: IDPfw: IDPfw is ready
    Feb 14 00:19:44 kernel: sizeof forward pkt param = 280
    Feb 14 00:19:44 BWDPI: fun bitmap = 3
    Feb 14 00:19:55 kernel: IDPfw: Exit IDPfw
    Feb 14 00:19:55 kernel: mod epilog takes 0 jiffies
    Feb 14 00:19:55 kernel: IDPfw: Exit IDPfw
    Feb 14 00:19:56 kernel: Exit chrdev /dev/idpfw with major 191
    Feb 14 00:19:56 kernel: Exit chrdev /dev/detector with major 190
    Feb 14 00:19:56 rc_service: bwdpi_check 855:notify_rc start_firewall
    Feb 14 00:19:56 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:19:56 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:19:56 (install_stubby.sh): 12300 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:19:56 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:19:56 Skynet: [%] Startup Initiated... ( skynetloc=/tmp/mnt/USB-Drive/skynet )
    Feb 14 00:52:02 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:52:02 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:52:02 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:52:02 (install_stubby.sh): 24878 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:52:02 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:52:02 Skynet: [%] Startup Initiated... ( skynetloc=/tmp/mnt/USB-Drive/skynet )
    Feb 14 00:52:32 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:52:32 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:52:32 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:52:32 (install_stubby.sh): 26073 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:52:32 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:52:32 Skynet: [%] Startup Initiated... ( skynetloc=/tmp/mnt/USB-Drive/skynet )
    Feb 14 00:52:49 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:52:49 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:52:49 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:52:49 (install_stubby.sh): 27093 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:52:49 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:53:29 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:53:29 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:53:29 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:53:29 (install_stubby.sh): 27427 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:53:29 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:53:29 Skynet: [%] Startup Initiated... ( skynetloc=/tmp/mnt/USB-Drive/skynet )
    Feb 14 00:53:49 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:53:49 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:53:49 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:53:49 (install_stubby.sh): 28460 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:53:49 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:54:23 rc_service: httpd 767:notify_rc restart_firewall
    Feb 14 00:54:23 nat: apply nat rules (/tmp/nat_rules_eth0_eth0)
    Feb 14 00:54:23 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/nat-start
    Feb 14 00:54:23 (install_stubby.sh): 28751 Starting Script Execution (iptables)
    Feb 14 00:54:23 custom_script: Running /jffs/scripts/firewall-start (args: eth0)
    Feb 14 00:54:23 Skynet: [%] Startup Initiated... ( skynetloc=/tmp/mnt/USB-Drive/skynet )
    Feb 14 00:54:36 kernel: [BLOCKED - INBOUND] IN=eth0 OUT= MAC=04:92:26:80:a1:00:00:17:10:87:12:99:08:00 SRC=221.181.156.59 DST=72.229.237.96 LEN=48 TOS=0x04 PREC=0x00 TTL=110 ID=38817 PROTO=TCP SPT=29964 DPT=22 SEQ=3168846 ACK=1112464615 WINDOW=65535 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 OPT (020405B401010402) MARK=0x8000000
    Feb 14 00:54:42 nat: apply redirect rules
    Feb 14 00:54:42 WAN_Connection: ISP's DHCP did not function properly.
    Feb 14 00:54:42 DualWAN: skip single wan wan_led_control - WANRED off
    Feb 14 00:54:59 Skynet: [#] 144341 IPs (+0) -- 1654 Ranges Banned (+0) || 0 Inbound -- 0 Outbound Connections Blocked! [start] [36s]
    Feb 14 00:55:41 kernel: [BLOCKED - INBOUND] IN=eth0 OUT= MAC=04:92:26:80:a1:00:00:17:10:87:12:99:08:00 SRC=216.218.206.91 DST=72.229.237.96 LEN=68 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=53 ID=3349 DF PROTO=UDP SPT=60161 DPT=111 LEN=48 MARK=0x8000000
    Feb 14 00:57:13 kernel: [BLOCKED - INBOUND] IN=eth0 OUT= MAC=04:92:26:80:a1:00:00:17:10:87:12:99:08:00 SRC=185.176.26.45 DST=72.229.237.96 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=244 ID=58023 PROTO=TCP SPT=40514 DPT=6345 SEQ=862918414 ACK=0 WINDOW=1024 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    
     
  15. martinr

    martinr Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,683
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I’m sorry I comfused you with my misspelling of syslog.
    The last 8 lines of the log appear to contain useful information, though I’m hoping someone with more experience will spot the problem. However, I see the blocked inbound connection by Skynet just before “WAN_Connection: ISP's DHCP did not function properly.”
    and that makes me wonder if you might try temporarily turning Skynet off to see if that’s where the problem lies.
     
  16. PeterV

    PeterV Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Ukraine, Kyiv
    You can see it by starting
    Code:
    top
    in command line interface (via ssh)
     
  17. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Noone has the same issues with the above setup?
     
  18. Blackbox

    Blackbox Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks @consorts, could you please let me know how you solved your issue with Wifi in detail please?