1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC88U - Client list doesn's show all connected devices

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by unpuertomex, Nov 18, 2018.

  1. unpuertomex

    unpuertomex New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Firmware: 3.0.0.4.384_32799

    I'm having difficulty with two wireless devices both of which have fixed IP addresses and who also happen not to show up on the routers client list. Each device can connect to the internet without any issues, what I cannot do is browse each other shared folders.

    One of the wireless units is a MS Surface Pro I repurposed as a Home Assistant gateway using Ubuntu 18.04 with Samba running, the other is Hp Spectre running Windows 10 home.

    I can connect to any of these units from any other device on my network, Windows desktop pc, android phone, iPad pro, etc... but not with each other unless I let them sit for 30 to 45 minutes. Additionally, if I ping the Surface Pro from the Spectre (when I cannot connect to it) the ping results return back with the IP address of the Spectre (both machines has different fixed IP addresses).

    Any thoughts of what could be going on here?

    This is an example of the ping results, note I'm pinging .93 but the response is .131, the laptop I'm sending the ping from.

    snip_20181118194458.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
  2. Jasiu

    Jasiu New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Regarding the clients not showing up, may I ask what your router IP address and mask are? What I've seen trying various addresses is that only clients using the first 256 addresses show up in the client list. For example, my router (AC66U) is at 192.168.1.1 and I have a mask of 255.255.240.0, which allows me to assign addresses from 192.168.0.2 up to 192.168.15.254. However, only clients in the 192.168.1.x space show up in the client list, as if the client list code assumes an old class C network. (and no, I don't have thousands of devices - I use the address space to divvy up between types of clients -wired / wireless / TV-devices etc.)

    For the two devices in question, have you looked at System Log > DHCP Leases and verified the IP and MAC address match what you see on the units?
     
  3. HuskyHerder

    HuskyHerder Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Exactly I also tried long ago to segment my devices much as you describe. There is another topic here, somewhere where I found @RMerlin talking about it, and there was no way to see the additional devices with the other IPs. Its one of the reasons I just found it easier to pull all mine back to one IP set.
     
  4. unpuertomex

    unpuertomex New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    2

    I'm currently sitting on 192.168.2.1 and sub 255.255.255.0. I did verify that the IP matched the MAC address. The oddest part of this is that if I leave it alone for about 30 to 45 minutes they start to work.