What's new

Asus RT-AX86U Disconnection Issue

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Rhylar

New Around Here
Hi,

Beginner here with basic knowledge. New to the forum but have been lurking around for a solution. I purchased an Asus RT-AX86U 3 weeks ago. However, the connection just randomly drops sometimes and has been quite an annoyance watching streams, gaming or online school. For example, I am watching stream on twitch.tv but all of a sudden, my connection would be cut off (stream loading, wifi icon on the windows bar is down etc.) This would last about 1 minute then the internet is fine again. This would happen every hour or so and I dont know why. I have tried resetting the router to default settings, flashing the firmware (from asus website) and still I would experience this drop.

Pulling my hair for desperation, I decided to jump into installing Asus Merlin and but it is still occuring. These are the latest steps I tried to do:

Reset the router to factory settings and rebooted it.
Installed Asus Merlin for RT-AX86U version 386.1
Reset the router again to factory settings after installing Merlin Firmware.
Followed "Best Practice" installation settings.

The connection speeds definitely had an improvement. However, I would still get drops in my connection. I am tired of trying to figure this out on my own and need expert help please. Thank you very much
I have attached a text file with my system log. I tried to capture the connection drop within the hour it happened, so the pasted log is approximately an hour long.

Attachments

• Text Log.txt
    29.8 KB · Views: 250
Maybe because of WPA 2 Enterprise?