1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asus RT-N56U stuck in recovery mode?

Discussion in 'ASUS N Routers & Adapters' started by chrismsales, Aug 18, 2018.

  1. chrismsales

    chrismsales Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    I've searched and found a couple of older threads but still having issues with an older RT-N56U I'm trying to set up as a second router for an AiMesh system. I've tried the 30-30-30 reset with no luck and even plugging my laptop directly into the LAN instead of WAN to reinstall the firmware. No matter what I try, I can't get to where the Asus Discovery Utility will see the router so I can install the new firmware.

    Any ideas or suggestions on how to fix?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,368
    Location:
    UK
    The RT-N56U doesn't support AiMesh.
     
  4. chrismsales

    chrismsales Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Thanks, was not aware of that. Would still like to try to have the extra N56U available as needed. Any ideas on how to get it out of rescue mode?
     
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,368
    Location:
    UK
    How have you determined that it is in recovery mode?
     
  6. chrismsales

    chrismsales Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    The power button is blinking blue very slowly. When looking on online at Ausus support it shows a firmware restoration utility to run but it's not available to download on their website. The only files I've been able to find for download are the firmware and then a device discovery utility.
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,368
    Location:
    UK
    Can you ping the router at 192.168.1.1 from your PC?
     
  8. chrismsales

    chrismsales Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    No, no connection. I think I might have it now. I had to download the Windows 8.1 64 bit version of the rescue utility instead of the Windows 10 that my laptop runs. It seems to be allowing me to upload the latest firmware now to the router.

    Thanks for your assistance.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!