What's new

Asus RT-N66U Merlin router, no GUI

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

J Angel

New Around Here
I am a networking novice, and I obviously messed up somewhere. My router has been working great with Merlin for about 2 years. I wanted to route my web browsing at work through my home router (for privacy reasons). I opened up SSH on the router, then I connect via PuTTy from work and rout internet traffic through my home router.
It seems to be working great. But now when I try to connect to the GUI of the router at home at 192.168.1.1. I get "This page cannot be displayed". The router works great, I just can't get to the logon page. I can, however, SSH to it.

I'd rather not factory reset it. I've made tweaks over the years for Plex, home security, and Parental controls.

Any thoughts on what I may have done to mess this up? At least with SSH access I have a chance to fix it, if I know what I did wrong.

I have done a quick search and didn't find anything...yet. I thought I'd post, then continue my searching.

Thanks!

I'd rather not factory reset it. I've made tweaks over the years for Plex, home security, and Parental controls.

Are you using a up to date firmware ? If not you will need to upgrade and factory reset if you want a secure network. Then you can address your question. There have been a ton of security updates and patches in two years.

Are you using a up to date firmware ? If not you will need to upgrade and factory reset if you want a secure network. Then you can address your question. There have been a ton of security updates and patches in two years.
I updated the firmware about six months ago. I don't know what version because I can't log in :)