Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asustor AS5104T Hangs ... ?

Discussion in 'General NAS Discussion' started by JeeperDon, May 19, 2017.

  1. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    I've been chasing issues with my NAS for over a month. Seems since the last ADM update, near Mar 30, I get LAN disconnect/reconnects, and also about daily system hangs (the LED panel stops scrolling and no access). The System Info Log just verifies what I know with the LAN and hangs. I've tried the NAS's other LAN port, swapped the cable, used a different switch port, still get the LAN disconnects at the same rate.

    Assuming is is indeed related to the last ADM update, I thought of going back to the prior version, but can't find it. I've thought of going to the 3.0 Beta but can't find any reviews on how good it is.

    I'd appreciate any suggestions you here may have.

    [This is my first post, but this is not a drive-by. I'll be around the forum for awhile.]
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,633
    Location:
    Canada
    I recommend opening a support ticket with Asustor. They're very good at dealing with issues it seems, they can even offer to remotely connect to your NAS to investigate.

    I do not recommend upgrading to a beta to attempt to fix an issue - it might bring its own share of issues, making the situation even more complicated.

    If you want to downgrade, you have to contact their tech support to request the previous firmware. Check with them first if downgrading is possible - some downgrages aren't, due to filesystems changes.
     
  3. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    I do have a ticket in, and oddly, just after posting the above an hour ago, I got a reply from them on the ticket, want to make a change to capture a specific log. I'm hesitant to let them use Teamviewer unless I'm there to watch. I'm not a linux wiz, but I'll try to do the linux work myself to set up the change in logging.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,633
    Location:
    Canada
    In my case, when I needed their help last year, they had me open SSH access to the NAS, so they could remotely access it. They didn't need access to my desktop, and I trusted them enough to connect briefly to my LAN (there wasn't anything sensitive accessible by them).
     
  5. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Did they do it real time, while you watched? Did they go in through the desktop via twamviewer, like with PuTTY or something for the SSH?
     
  6. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,633
    Location:
    Canada
    No, I opened the SSH port in my router so they could log remotely (I temporarily changed my login password for them, and reverted it back the next day). They did so during my night time. No remote desktop involved.

    I was able to trace back what they did, as Linux keeps an history file of typed commands. They basically changed the cron jobs created by the service that was causing me trouble. They didn't even try to peak at anything - whichever tech that accessed my NAS was very professional.

    I can understand one's reluctance in giving remote access to support personal tho - it's definitely justified. I can only comment on my own personal experience, as I knew there was nothing confidential on my NAS (it's basically large Acronis True Image backups, my music, downloads of large source code tarballs from Asus, etc...).

    My really personal documents (accounting and such) remain on my desktop, and are backed up in the cloud. And my desktop is password-protected...
     
  7. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    The ticket reply I got was that to add a cron job to copy a particular log file every 10 mins to save it, as it apparently gets cleared on a boot. I can do that cron setup myself in linux. When I get the crash again, I'm to send them the last log.

    Thanks for your help. I'll post back when I figure out what the problem is.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. JeeperDon

    JeeperDon Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Problem fixed. Asustor provided new firmware and all issues are gone, runs perfectly.
     

Share This Page