Release Asuswrt-Merlin 386.5 is now available

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wisiwyg

Senior Member
Quick update... Issues with installing the 386.5_1... Upgraded my main AX88U, Mesh Node AC86U and Mesh Node AC68U. I lost my AC86U node after everything settled, couldn't get it to rejoin no matter what. Ended up factory reset AX88U and manual setup. Still couldn't add on AC86U Node, and lost the AC68U node. Fixed the AC86U node by flashing back to the latest Asus release, added as node immediately. Will be trying that with the AC68U over the weekend.

Now running 386.5_1 on main AX88U, OE Asus on AC86U node. All coming from Merlin 386.5 release.
Update... AC68U is bricked. I put into restoration mode - slow flashing power light, but firmware restoration tool does not detect, times out with a "not in restoration mode" message. I am unable to flash back to standard release. Any recommendations? Or is this the excuse I've been looking for to purchase an AX extender/mesh node?
 

PR3MIUM

Regular Contributor
dirty flash over 386.5_1 two errors:

Code:
May  5 07:05:02 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_setup_wiphy : Registering Vendor80211

Mar 26 09:30:31 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_hostapd_sec : No WPSIE in beacon
Mar 26 09:30:31 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_hostapd_sec : No WPSIE in beacon
 

Adamm

Part of the Furniture
I got the following when trying to have a IPV4 only client (AX88U) connect to my IPV6 capable OpenVPN server (AX86) at a different location. I was only able to resolve this by disabling IPV6 on the server.

Code:
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: Data Channel: using negotiated cipher 'AES-256-GCM'
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: Outgoing Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: Incoming Data Channel: Cipher 'AES-256-GCM' initialized with 256 bit key
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: GDG6: remote_host_ipv6=n/a
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: net_route_v6_best_gw query: dst ::
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: net_route_v6_best_gw result: via :: dev lo
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: TUN/TAP device tun11 opened
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: TUN/TAP TX queue length set to 1000
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip link set dev tun11 up mtu 1500
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip link set dev tun11 up
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip addr add dev tun11 10.8.0.2/24
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip link set dev tun11 up mtu 1500
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip link set dev tun11 up
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: /usr/sbin/ip -6 addr add fd00:ac68:1::1000/64 dev tun11
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: Linux ip -6 addr add failed: external program exited with error status: 2
Mar 26 11:19:31 ovpn-client1[10605]: Exiting due to fatal error
 

underdose

Regular Contributor
Dirty upgrade from 386.5, no errors.
 

osen

New Around Here
Sorry but it isn't clear to me from the changelog: does 386.5_2 include the security patches from the 2022/03/25 official ASUS firmware?
 

pattiri

Senior Member
my AC88u also bricked :(
 

Luizlp10

Regular Contributor
Updated my RT-AC86U from 386.5_1 to 386.5_2 via Wi-Fi, 2 walls from the router without unmounting my flashdrive and it all went well with the upgrading process.
 

maxbraketorque

Very Senior Member
I got the following when trying to have a IPV4 only client (AX88U) connect to my IPV6 capable OpenVPN server (AX86) at a different location. I was only able to resolve this by disabling IPV6 on the server.

Are you using the proto udp4 command in the AX88U client settings?
 

hasan

New Around Here
Dirty update on my ac88u I'm getting all dns redirecting to 10.0.0.1 and invalid request in browser.

Prob gonna factory reset it and see if that sorts it out

Edit: No dice starting fresh.

Dirty revert after factory reset to the last build didn't work either

Dirty Revert to 386.5 beta 1 worked.
 
Last edited:

banger

Senior Member
One thing I noticed was my AC68 node was slow to come back up after flash. Flashed it first then main router and main was back up about 3 mins before node came back up.
 

Wisiwyg

Senior Member
You didn’t happen to mix up your ac68 and ac86 when flashing, did you?
Nope... do it once and you never do that again. But yeah, something to consider.

What's really, really odd. I can't use the reset button to put it into recovery and reset. But, if reboot normally I connect it to my network through lan ports and It shows up on the lan. Trying to open the admin console through web UI at the IP address gives the error that it cannot connect the AI Mesh Router. Trying to SSH into it now... if I can get in I'll try to write the OE Asus firmware...

Update... looks like I can log in via SSH. Recommendations on next steps? Note it is reporting fw as Merlin RT-AC68U 386.5_1, so confirm didn't write the AC86 fw, I think.

Another really odd thing... the wlan lights on the front are lit for both 2.4 and 5g. But, searching for it with a laptop 18" away doesn't pick up either wifi signal. Seems to confirm it thinks it is still a mesh node that can't connect to mesh host, even after having pressed the reset button numerous times.

What is the proper code to MTD write firmware for Asus? Haven't done this since Linksys 54G and DD-WRT days. TIA for any assistance...
 
Last edited:

jomcty

Occasional Visitor
Dirty upgrade of my RT-AX88U from 386.5 to 386.5_2. No issues encountered thus far.
 

Clark Griswald

Very Senior Member
my AC88u also bricked :(
Dirty flash to my Main/AP have shown zero issues.
Perhaps you can provide additional pertinent information, and I'm sure that your router issue can be addressed.
@Wisiwyg I tried the "router is dead & we need to upgrade" on The Wife, and that excuse still doesn't work.
EDIT: especially when I want to use the so called broken router as an AP.
My response time has gotten down to race car pit crew times, when The Family starts screaming "Dad, The Internet Is DOWN!!!"
 
Last edited:

Wisiwyg

Senior Member
My dirty flash to my Main/AP have shown zero issues.
Perhaps you can provide additional pertinent information, and I'm sure that your router issue can be addressed.
@Wisiwyg I tried the "router is dead & we need to upgrade" on The Wife, and that excuse still doesn't work.
I'm too damn fast to fix it! We have internet via the AX88U... and we both work from home mostly these days. The AC68U is an older main, repurposed for node, as is the AC86U. That will be a hard sell now...shot myself in my own foot!

So, back on topic...

Anyone recommend next steps, now that I can SSH in? Would a factory reset here be advised, or write OE firmware? I get the sense this is a one-shot attempt.
 

pattiri

Senior Member
Dirty flash to my Main/AP have shown zero issues.
Perhaps you can provide additional pertinent information, and I'm sure that your router issue can be addressed.
@Wisiwyg I tried the "router is dead & we need to upgrade" on The Wife, and that excuse still doesn't work.
EDIT: especially when I want to use the so called broken router as an AP.

I've checked after it bricked and it was the correct file. I also had some trouble upgrading to 386-5, maybe my router is getting old and its NVRAM is getting destroyed :/ whatever, after couple of hours I've fixed it here how I did.


Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top