Beta Asuswrt-Merlin 386.7 Beta is now available

Status
Not open for further replies.

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
ax68u upgrading from 386.7_beta1 to 386.7_beta2 cause to lost of firewall - url filter entries.

maybe realated to
- FIXED: DNSFilter client list was limited to around 10 clients
on some models.

?
No, that change was explicitely for DNSFilter (it wasn't spliting/merging the separate variables together).
RT-AX86U - I assume cferom firmware for this model still in the Asus oven ??
Yes, they are testing a fix on their end, so it will have to wait for the next GPL merge.

Does this mean that auto channel select isn't working on 5GHz?
This typically means it's checking if it can switch to 160 MHz channels, and it can't. I recommend disabling 160 MHz support on your 5 GHz band.

Updated from beta 1 to beta 2, I get this error on my Axus AX86U
Did you follow the required backup/restore procedure for your JFFS partition?

saw few of these entries not sure if there from before or after beta 1 on beta 2 now
Probably after i do not have entries i think from before beta 2
Ignore these, they are debugging info that have been there for a year or two now.

Upgraded my RT-AC5300 from 386.7 B1 to B2. All seems OK except for the VPN Server - OpenVPN web page for configuring the server. There appear to be a number of errors on the web page, no apply button, nothing happens when you switch VPN Details from General to Advanced Settings in the dropdown etc. as per attached screenshot. Unfortunately didn't test if the same issue was on B1 version as well.
Open your browser console, refresh the page, and look for any Javascript error being logged.
 

tarzan2000

Regular Contributor
AX86U + 386.7_beta2
IPoE 500Mbit + USB DUAL WAN GPRS (Failover)+ VPN Client(OPVPN 5 point+VPN Director) + VPN Server (OPVPN 1 point) + MESH + GuestNet +WIFI+ AQoS+AiProtect+DDnS+Public IP+ DNSFilter+Parrent Control.

No ipv6 anywere
No USB disk

Recommendations were successfully implemented.

Jun 18 14:44:14 kernel: nf_conntrack: automatic helper assignment is deprecated and it will be removed soon. Use the iptables CT target to attach helpers instead.
Jun 18 14:44:15 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(469): eth7: Deauth_ind 00:BB:60:3E:C0:D3, status: 0, reason: Station requesting (re)association is not authenticated with responding station (9)
Jun 18 14:44:15 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(486): eth7: Disassoc 00:BB:60:3E:C0:D3, status: 0, reason: Disassociated because sending station is leaving (or has left) BSS (8)
Jun 18 14:44:15 hostapd: eth7: STA 00:bb:60:3e:c0:d3 IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Jun 18 14:44:18 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(505): eth7: Auth 00:BB:60:3E:C0:D3, status: Successful (0)
Jun 18 14:44:18 hostapd: eth7: STA 00:bb:60:3e:c0:d3 IEEE 802.11: associated
Jun 18 14:44:18 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(515): eth7: ReAssoc 00:BB:60:3E:C0:D3, status: Successful (0)
Jun 18 14:44:18 hostapd: eth7: STA 00:bb:60:3e:c0:d3 RADIUS: starting accounting session 6D52CAB0D3B47F13
Jun 18 14:44:18 hostapd: eth7: STA 00:bb:60:3e:c0:d3 WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Jun 18 14:44:18 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8bc980> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8c44c0>^[[0m
Jun 18 14:44:18 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8c44c0> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8c37c0>^[[0m
Jun 18 14:44:19 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8a84c0> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8bc980>^[[0m
Jun 18 14:44:19 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8bc980> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8c44c0>^[[0m
Jun 18 14:44:20 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8a84c0> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8ace40>^[[0m
Jun 18 14:44:20 kernel: ^[[0;33;41mFCACHEfc_vblog_list_add ERROR: Duplicate blog: list blog<0xffffffc02f8ace40> JOIN blog<0xffffffc02f8c44c0>^[[0m

Should I be worried or is this not a problem?

So, I made a dirty upgrade from 385_2 to 386.7_b2 while following the instructions for backing up and resetting the JFFS area.

I ran into problems in my network :

1. A number of Wifi 5 clients (LG OLED A1 and Samsung 43AU9010) had a connection to the router but could not access the Internet. All Smart apps (Youtube, Netflix, Apple TV) didn't work. Deleting the network on these devices and reconnecting did not solve the problem. I always got an Internet error.
2. SmartThings (samsung) and Lg Things apps have stopped working on the iphone smartphone. They reported that the TV was connected to a local Wi-Fi network, but could not add them to their clouds for management. Also, a number of Smart Home devices from Yandex Alice have stopped being controlled from the gateway.
3. The port forwarding functionality from the Internet to the AXIS internal cameras has stopped working
4. The Dual Wan mechanism has stopped working.
I use an IPOE provider and a USB GPRS GSM modem. So when physically disconnecting the cable from the Wan port, the router still did not switch to USB WAN.
Usually earlier it took 10-15 seconds, but I waited 10 minutes and got no result.


At the same time, opening websites from computers and smartphones worked perfectly.
The connection to the Openvpn server on the router was successful as well as the connection of the router as an Openvpn client to a remote server

Returning to 385_2, I successfully fixed all the problems described above.

Probably, after the update, it would be necessary to reset the router to factory settings, but, unfortunately, I can't do this now due to the extensive settings of the DHCP and OpenVPN profiles.

I hope this helps in
 
Last edited:

Calkulin

Regular Contributor
Could be the ISP securing the modem to prevent access from a different subnet, in the light of the security issues that affected various modems a few months ago.

Spectrum does this now, the modem webpage is no longer accessible even though you can ping the IP

So, I made a dirty upgrade from 385_2 to 386.7_b2 while following the instructions for backing up and resetting the JFFS area.

I ran into problems in my network :

1. A number of Wifi 5 clients (LG OLED A1 and Samsung 43AU9010) had a connection to the router but could not access the Internet. All Smart apps (Youtube, Netflix, Apple TV) didn't work. Deleting the network on these devices and reconnecting did not solve the problem. I always got an Internet error.
2. SmartThings (samsung) and Lg Things apps have stopped working on the iphone smartphone. They reported that the TV was connected to a local Wi-Fi network, but could not add them to their clouds for management. Also, a number of Smart Home devices from Yandex Alice have stopped being controlled from the gateway.
3. The port forwarding functionality from the Internet to the AXIS internal cameras has stopped working
4. The Dual Wan mechanism has stopped working.
I use an IPOE provider and a USB GPRS GSM modem. So when physically disconnecting the cable from the Wan port, the router still did not switch to USB WAN.
Usually earlier it took 10-15 seconds, but I waited 10 minutes and got no result.


At the same time, opening websites from computers and smartphones worked perfectly.
The connection to the Openvpn server on the router was successful as well as the connection of the router as an Openvpn client to a remote server

Returning to 385_2, I successfully fixed all the problems described above.

Probably after the update I had to reset the router to factory settings, but unfortunately I can't do it now because of the extensive settings of DHCP and OpenVPN profiles.

I hope this helps in

Are using AiMesh? Are you binding those devices to a specific AP? I have a select few devices that if I bind them, they do what you described but this is not a new issue specific to this release or a router as I've upgraded to a GT-AX11000 and XT8 from a RT-AX88U and RT-AX58U and that issue happened with those routers also. My solution was to remove the binding and let connect to where they want
 
Last edited:

tarzan2000

Regular Contributor
Are using AiMesh? Are you binding those devices to a specific AP? I have a select few devices that if I bind them, they do what you described but this is not a new issue specific to this release or a router as I've upgraded to a GT-AX11000 and XT8 from a RT-AX88U and RT-AX58U and that issue happened with those routers also. My solution was to remove the binding and let connect to where they want
Yes, I have Airmesh paired with AC66U_b1 and I tied LG TV to the AC66_b1 node and Samsung to the AX86U.
But why did everything work fine for me when I returned to 385_2 ?

I cannot allow them to connect wherever they want, since they are on the border of two broadcast zones of nodes. And if I remove the binding, they start to switch spontaneously at an unnecessary moment for me :)

And yes, I use the Wireless - Roaming BlockList option and not the node binding.
 

Tony C.

New Around Here
My GT-AX11000 is on gigabit symmetric fiber and serves one RT-AC3100 and three RT-AC68U mesh nodes on 5GHz backhaul, with Pihole+Unbound on an RPI4 managing DHCP and recursive DNS.

This morning I did a dirty upgrade on all five routers from Asuswrt-Merlin 386.5_2 to 386.7_beta2, and didn't touch the JFFS partition or do any manual reboots. Since then I've had zero issues and performance has been stellar. The new DNSFilter page looks super clean too, by the way.

Immaculate work as always, RMerlin. Thanks so much for all you do!
 

XIII

Very Senior Member
Not that I can think of, unless you run something that generates a lot of logging in /tmp.
No large log files there, but does the mounted (32 GB) USB flash drive count as well?

Code:
/dev/sda1 on /tmp/mnt/usb type ext4 (rw,nodev,relatime,data=ordered)
 

Damit1

Senior Member
This is weird but I will give it a shot

For the last 1.5 months or so my Ring doorcam has not sent me any notifications of detections.
It would have send once in a day or two a notification and usually previous to that bug- the doorcam sent about 10 notifications per day.

And I lost my kit of Ring in order to factory default it.
Today, first after about 2 month(s) I think that the Ring is back to life after the B2 update.
Have to explore it more, but I have no other explanation.
 

Olivier

Occasional Visitor
Dirty upgrade on XT12 from 386.7 Bêta 1 to 386.7 Beta 2, everything goes well.
 
Last edited:

Dinesh_kck

Occasional Visitor
I am running AX86U, dirty flash from 386.5_2 to 386.7 beta2, no issues so far,

I still have issues with smart connect and 160MHz, To clarify was not a issue introduced by 386.7 it was there forever, just mentioning as i saw multiple people reporting issues with 160Mhz
 

AntonK

Very Senior Member
I am running AX86U, dirty flash from 386.5_2 to 386.7 beta2, no issues so far,

I still have issues with smart connect and 160MHz, To clarify was not a issue introduced by 386.7 it was there forever, just mentioning as i saw multiple people reporting issues with 160Mhz
I have nothing in my log with regard to 160MHz (which is enabled), though I am not using Smart Connect.
 

visortgw

Very Senior Member
I am running AX86U, dirty flash from 386.5_2 to 386.7 beta2, no issues so far,

I still have issues with smart connect and 160MHz, To clarify was not a issue introduced by 386.7 it was there forever, just mentioning as i saw multiple people reporting issues with 160Mhz
Lock 5 GHz channel to 36 (at least in the US).
 

Howard_inGA

Regular Contributor

gerardr

Regular Contributor
20+ hours of 7beta2 running without issue after a dirty upgrade from 7beta1; RT-AX3000 (using RT-AX58U firmware).
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
No large log files there, but does the mounted (32 GB) USB flash drive count as well?
No, this is just a mount point, it won't occupy any space (beside the inode for the empty folder) in tmpfs.
 

PR3MIUM

Regular Contributor
Dirty Upgrade from 386.7Beta1 -> Beta2.

Code:
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: NComm TMS V6.90 Kernel Module loaded.
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: PCIe HCD (impl1)^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: core [2] probe^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel:   bcm963xx-pcie: found port [0] GEN2 Core Rev [3.04] with 1 Lanes^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel:   bcm963xx-pcie: Core [2] setting resistor calibration value to 0x8
May  5 07:05:03 kernel:   bcm963xx-pcie: core [2] Link UP - [1] lanes, [GEN2] speed^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: bcm963xx-pcie bcm963xx-pcie.0: PCI host bridge to bus 0000:00
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [mem 0xe0000000-0xefffffff]
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: pci_bus 0000:00: root bus resource [bus 00-ff]
May  5 07:05:03 kernel:   bcm963xx-pcie: Core [2] Enabled PCIE/UBUS Error Interrupts^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel:   bcm963xx-pcie: Core [2] UBUS Intr [UBUS_LINKUP]^M
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: pci 0000:00:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: pci 0000:00:00.0: bridge configuration invalid ([bus 00-00]), reconfiguring
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: pci 0000:01:00.0: of_irq_parse_pci() failed with rc=-22

Code:
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: Dongle Host Driver, version 17.10.121.41 (r796515)
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: Compiled in drivers/net/wireless/bcmdhd
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: wfd_registerdevice Successfully registered dev eth7 ifidx 0 wfd_idx 1
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: Register interface [eth7]  MAC: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: random: init urandom read with 14 bits of entropy available
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: proc_dostring_crashlogsave:  crash log filename is /jffs/crashlog.log
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: crashFileSet: log signature invalid !
May  5 07:05:03 kernel: ret 0 retlen 65536 buff <3>hub 1-0:1.0: config failed, hub doesn't have any ports! (err -19)

Code:
Jun 19 09:48:57 kernel: cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
Jun 19 09:49:00 kernel: cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
Jun 19 09:49:03 kernel: cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
Jun 19 09:49:03 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(534): eth6: Assoc xxxxxxxxxxxxx, status: Successful (0)
Jun 19 09:49:03 hostapd: eth6: STA xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx IEEE 802.11: associated
Jun 19 09:49:03 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
Jun 19 09:49:04 hostapd: eth6: STA xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx RADIUS: starting accounting session xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Jun 19 09:49:04 hostapd: eth6: STA xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Jun 19 09:49:06 kernel: cfg80211: Exceeded CRDA call max attempts. Not calling CRDA

Code:
Jun 19 09:49:27 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_hostapd_sec : No WPSIE in beacon
Jun 19 09:49:27 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_hostapd_sec : No WPSIE in beacon
Jun 19 09:49:27 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
Jun 19 09:49:27 hostapd: eth6: xxxxxxxxxxxxxx IEEE 802.11: associated (aid 1)
Jun 19 09:49:27 wlceventd: wlceventd_proc_event(534): eth6: Assoc xxxxxxxxxxxxx, status: Successful (0)
Jun 19 09:49:27 kernel: CFG80211-ERROR) wl_cfg80211_change_station : WLC_SCB_AUTHORIZE sta_flags_mask not set
 
Last edited:

alienstar

New Around Here
No, that change was explicitely for DNSFilter (it wasn't spliting/merging the separate variables together).

Yes, they are testing a fix on their end, so it will have to wait for the next GPL merge.


This typically means it's checking if it can switch to 160 MHz channels, and it can't. I recommend disabling 160 MHz support on your 5 GHz band.


Did you follow the required backup/restore procedure for your JFFS partition?


Ignore these, they are debugging info that have been there for a year or two now.


Open your browser console, refresh the page, and look for any Javascript error being logged.
For the Open VPN configuration issue I cleared all browser cache, cookies etc and retried the page but still had the same error. Browser console shows the following errors:

"
Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:783 Uncaught SyntaxError: Unexpected token 'else'

Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1426 Uncaught ReferenceError: vpn_server_enable is not defined

at Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1426:43

Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1267 Uncaught ReferenceError: initial is not defined

at onload (Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1267:38)

Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1444 Uncaught ReferenceError: switchMode is not defined

at HTMLSelectElement.onchange (Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1444:111)

Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1444 Uncaught ReferenceError: switchMode is not defined

at HTMLSelectElement.onchange (Advanced_VPN_OpenVPN.asp:1444:111)
"
 

Clark Griswald

Very Senior Member
Has anyone attempted to use the Asus Wireguard implementation?
Too many Family members home for summer to attempt myself.

Also, B2 working well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top