What's new

Asuswrt smart connect rule to favor 5ghz

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

carlbine

New Around Here
I am new to asuswrt and i wan't to modify smart connect rule.

I wan't all devices to stay connected to 5ghz if the band is still in range.

I have a room that gets more bandwidth thru 5ghz over 2.4ghz. but smart connect keep assigning my phone to the 2.4ghz band.

My router is asus tuf ax5400

SmartConnect isn't smart. Don't use it if you want to control where your devices connect to.

The router doesn't decide where the clients connect. The clients do.

Use discreet SSIDs for each band and only connect the devices to the band you want them to use.

Another opinion: Leave the router settings at default including SmartConnect. If you want a specific client to use just one band use the Wireless MAC Filter to deny that client from the chosen band.

However, if you are using DFS channels and the router gets hit by RADAR the 5 GHz will go down and that client will loose connection. Much better to use SmartConnect and let the clients choose what is best for them.

@bbunge, he's already tried running the defaults. They're not working as he wants them to.

I have a room that gets more bandwidth thru 5ghz over 2.4ghz. but smart connect keep assigning my phone to the 2.4ghz band.

After much experimentation over time on different neworks, my preferred results are with Smart Connect (and Roaming Assistant) disabled.

On some networks, all wireless clients behave well using same SSIDs... and the owners typically prefer seeing/using 'one' SSID.