What's new

AT&T Gateway Bypass

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

beefjerky

Occasional Visitor
Long story short, AT&T's gateway for their Gigapower service stinks, and their service requires their gateway to authenticate via 802.1x to use the service. I'm currently using a smart switch with VLANs to bypass it (and the WAN MAC cloned from their gateway), but it does require manual intervention should re-authentication be needed. However, it seems that there are ways to have the authentication packets forwarded with certain routers and software, and am wondering if this could be done with Merlin's firmware and scripting. I have very little knowledge of scripting, so I'm hoping someone with more knowledge than me could help with this.

Here is the main thread on DSLR with a whole lot of information about the situation at hand
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29903721-AT-T-Residential-Gateway-Bypass-True-bridge-mode

Here's someone's code for a Debian/Ubuntu router
https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r30708210-

There is whole lot more info in that thread, and a lot of it I don't necessarily understand or know if it would even be relevant to having it work on an Asus router.

For my setup, I currently have an AC66U, but am about to upgrade to an AC3100. I know ports use different names depending on the router, so I'd hope we could have a script for both routers.

Anyway, I know this might not be an easy undertaking, but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

I just ran a DMZ through the ATT gateway into my AC68U and that seems to be working well. Granted I don't have Gigapower, but I would think their gateway would offer I similar option.