1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AV1200 poor speed?

Discussion in 'MoCA, HomePlug, HPNA' started by OBENZ, Dec 6, 2018.

  1. OBENZ

    OBENZ Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I have bought 3 of these with 3gbit LAN ports due to laziness and other cnsiderations i dont want to redo all the wiring and have cat5 cables running around the house. When i bought these i thought i would get some significant speed gains but i'm not.
    I have my ISP fiber router hooked to the AV1200 with rj45 cable
    The second pair is hooked in the living room (6meters from the first one) which is then hooked to my router"s gbit port. So my router is hooked to the ISP modem through a AV1200. The AV1200 other 2 ports are used by My ps4 pro and my XBOX one X.
    The router other gbit ports are used by my RPI and my Android box MINIX U9 which is also gbit capable
    the third kit is in my bedroom and a RPI is hooked to it through the rj45 cable.

    running IPERF across RPI, my android box or RPI and RPI in my bedroom gives very disapointing speeds.

    50-70Mb/S :(
    is having other plugs connected to the kit's passthrough affecting the speed?or is the speed affacted by the number of utilities conencted to the home circuit?
     
  2. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,804
    Powerline throughput is most affected by high frequency electrical noise. Small power adapters like USB chargers are usually the biggest cause.

    Try unplugging anything like that that is either connected to the powerline adapter pass-through outlet or plugged into another outlet in the room(s).
     
  3. OBENZ

    OBENZ Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    thanks, i'm waiting for my new router RT-AC86U to arrive and will redo all my configuration and test again.as far as i know i don't have any USB chargers connected by i do have a lot of devices and 2 smartplugs from TP LINk maybe i can remove those?
     
  4. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,804
    Any small AC/DC adapter generates high frequency noise.
     
  5. Fyodor

    Fyodor Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    I think that the speeds you're reporting are pretty typical for AV1200 adapters. I don't know if there is anything to be done about it.
     
  6. abailey

    abailey Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    577
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Make sure the AV1200 are plugged directly into the wall and not into a power strip of even extension cord if possible.
     
  7. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,024
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    HomePlug AV will lose a bit if one is hopping across different circuits - sometimes dramatically if one or more of the circuit breakers have Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter (AFCI) breakers (look at your power panel, they're labeled).

    Check the main site - a couple of good articles to review, including the one linked below:

    https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/bas...69-how-to-troubleshoot-your-powerline-network

    Keep in mind that AV1200 represents the PHY rate, not the network rate - your numbers are a bit on the low side for HPAV2, but not excessively so...