1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AX88u -100Mb WAN port speed on startup and others...

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by djrm, Mar 15, 2019.

  1. djrm

    djrm Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Hi Everyone,

    I have bought a RT-AX88u to replace a GT-AC5300, mainly due to be able to use Merlin firmware. I have found the below few issues and have had to back to the GT unit.

    1- Any time the router is rebooted, the WAN port is stuck as 100Mb speed (this is found in both stock and Merlin). Once the cable is unplug/plug the port comes as 1Gb.
    2-Movistar Triple VLAN is not available in the Merlin IPTV configuration but it is in stock.
    3- With same wifi AC configuration, AX88u seems to have less performance than GT specially for upload

    Any advise?

    Thanks
     
  2. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    30,628
    Location:
    Canada
    That's because Asus only added it after my current firmware release.
     
    djrm likes this.
  3. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,596
    1 - Check the cable. Test/switch with a good/known Cat5E or Cat6A cable. If the issue persists, I would be doing a full M&M Config/reset at this point on the router. See my signature for links below. ;)

    3 - I would recommend doing a 'sanitize' on your network after you switch routers/while setting up the new one. Again, see the links below. The main reason possibly is that the microcode used on your client devices is interfering with how the new router needs them to be set. Use new SSID's with no special characters for each band (the same passwords can still be used) to make sure the client devices are set up like the new Router expects them to be.

    I would recommend that you take some time to find the optimal Control Channel for each band too. Please see the links below for further details.
     
    djrm likes this.
  4. djrm

    djrm Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    OK, thanks. Will wait then till this is added....
    Any idea about the issue 1?

    Also, is there any way to restart the WAN port from console? it is not ideal but at least I don't need to be unpluging/pluging the cable (I will report this issue to Asus as this happen with stock as well)

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2019
  5. djrm

    djrm Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks,

    For 1 is not the cable.... same cable connected to a AC88U and GT-AC5300 works without issues, also if you make a quick unplug and plug again the AX88U recognize 1Gbps.

    For 3 I have reset the configuration again and reconfigured and after that seems to be ok.
     
  6. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,596
    That is what is indicating to me that it may be the cable, or, the connector with that port. ;)

    Trade it with any other cable you have. It may be all that is needed.
     
  7. djrm

    djrm Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks again. I tried with 2 additional cat6 cables and outcome was the same. So make an additional router config reset (I did the same yesterday and didn't work) and now seems that always is getting 1Gb after power up. :)

    so now is a matter of time (finger crossed) to see the Movistar Triple VLAN profile in Merlin fw :)
     
    L&LD likes this.
  8. coen99

    coen99 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I also have an AX88
    I did not have trouble with the LAN ports but I did have an issue after changing firmware.
    My wifi stopped working and no factory resets or firmware changes or disconnecting from the poweroulet worked.

    Than as a some sort of last thing I pulled the powersupply connector from the router for 30 seconds. So NOT the adapter from the poweroutlet but the plug that goes into the router.
    Was the Only thing that worked for me.

    I love the router but sometimes it seems a bit buggy.
    As I said you are not having the same problem but what do you got to loose?

    Cheers
     
  9. djrm

    djrm Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks, but after the full config reset did yesterday I have tried several times to power off/on or reboot the router and WAN port is always getting 1Gb.
     
    L&LD likes this.