What's new

Basic home network setup question: ASUS AC2900 RT-AC68U

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

alanwhpoon

New Around Here
Hi,

Not sure if this is the right forum or even the right site for this question. I have no networking background, and getting frustrated trying to set up my home network!

My telco provided me with an Actiontec T3200 wireless router. As I've been adding more devices I've been noticing wifi performance issues, and after reading online it seems that the best logical step was to purchase a better router. So I purchased the ASUS AC2900 RT-AC68U.

Reading online, here's what I've done:
1. Kept my TVbox connected to the T3200 (apparently it needs to be connected to the T3200 to work properly)
2. Set the T3200 to bridge mode (I still don't know the pros / cons of setting to bridge mode)

At this point, if I connect the RT-AC68U WAN port to the T3200 LAN1 port, everything works great. Except that all my devices have IP addresses of 192.168.50.x instead of the 192.168.1.x that they used to have (not sure if this is a problem?) However, I have some devices connected to the RT-AC68U LAN that require port forwarding, and I don't know if that's possible in this configuration?

Continuing to read online, it seems that I'm supposed to set the RT-AC68U into Access Point mode, and to make sure I assign an IP address before doing this.

1. On the T3200 DHCP settings and assigned 192.168.1.70 to the RT-AC68U MAC address
2. On the RT-AC68U I changed the configuration to Access Point