1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Benefits of changing WAN IP

Discussion in 'General Network Security' started by Natey2, Sep 20, 2019.

  1. Natey2

    Natey2 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    I've had the same WAN IP for quite a while.
    I'm not paying for a public static IP address and don't need one.
    Would trying to get a new WAN IP occasionally be a good security move?

    Sent using Tapatalk
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,415
    Location:
    UK
    Not in my opinion. Unless for some reason you think your particular IP address is being targeted.
     
  3. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    I have been using Spectrum / Charter for over 10 years. Recently network hardware off and packed away during an apartment renovation for 6 weeks. When I came back, Spectrum gave me the same IP. I keep notes of my current IP, going back over three years. In that time I have only had four different IP addresses assigned for my WAN.

    Skynet consistently shows between 150-200 hits per hour, day after day, month after month. I strongly suspect that those running the probes are targeting the Spectrum range of IPs, thinking they have a better chance since most people plug in a router and run it, often set up by the Spectrum installer who installed and activated the line. I've given up trying a different IP, since it is very difficult to impossible to obtain a new one.
     
  4. Klueless

    Klueless Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    716
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    I think I agree with Colin. Use common sense, stay away from scams and porn, use due diligence if/when you change firewall settings.

    While I do believe @Butterfly Bones my experience is if I turn off my router/modem when I go on vacation I get a new IP address. Heck, I often get a new one if we have a lightening storm. I'm not sure I see the benefit of a new IP, you might get the address of someone who was very naughty and was targeted?
     
  5. dosborne

    dosborne Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    /dev/null
    It all depends on your ISP. If you don't pay for a static IP, then you are at their mercy. They may have it set to change every 2 hours or may change every 2 years. It could change on every reboot, or may require the MAC to not be active for weeks before release.

    Extremely unlikely a specific IP is being targetted. Even unlikely that a range associated to an ISP is specifically targeted. Most bot attacks target HUGE ranges randomly selected, like class B addresses. Changing your IP isn't likely to have any impact.
     
    Gar likes this.
  6. Authority

    Authority Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Just get a new modem?

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
     
  7. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    texas
    It can be a crap shoot as you may end up with IP that is under heavy load. It may take a couple of days to clear out. Cable my not change IP unless you leave your modem down for a whole day. AT&T in the old days would change IP every reboot. Some people change IPs when they get banned doing something so you have to live with the other guys actions. Changing the mac will usually get you a new IP.
     
  8. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    Spectrum will not authorize any modem but their own here. I have no separate modem rental fee now, just part of my regular arm & leg package.
     
  9. Natey2

    Natey2 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    I'm on Spectrum and use my own white/retail Motorola modem. I was on TWC with this modem before Spectrum acquired them though. The ISP has upgraded the firmware on this modem. Even I can't do that.

    Somebody suggested that if they want to destroy your personal modem for any reason, they can remotely increase power level/signal strength or something to some very high level for your modem. Just saying.

    Sent using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2019
  10. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    texas
    If you own your own modem on Spectrum then you need to make sure it has enough channels or you will see more congestion.

    I own a Arris SB8200 which is not officially supported by Spectrum but they un-officially support it.
     
  11. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    USA
    It must vary by region / city / town. I'm in a small town (40k population) central coastal California, I've asked techs on site, stopped in the retail store, called online support. All say the same, they have no ability to configure for a third party modem. Must be the official corporate BS, probably.

    They only offer 100 MB coax service here, and their Arris modem works fine for that.
     
  12. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,957
    Location:
    texas
    I here all Spectrum will go to 200/10 for basic service at some point. I think they will add more channels at that point.