What's new

Best ax router to purchase…

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

aliitp

Occasional Visitor
Hello

am finally looking to replace my isp crappy router with an AX product and keep it for years to come

coming from dual AC routers previously (router and bridge) I’ve been using them for the past 7 years…

can someone plz recommend to me preferably an ASUS router with Highest throughout possible on the new AX standard that can also work as Router/Bridge setup for potential future upgrade ?…

Budget 300-450$ for a highest end product possible with great throughout and signal strength.

thanks,

2x RT-AX86U's in wired 2.5GbE backhaul mode running RMerlin Alpha 1. There is nothing else that compares, today.

Another vote for the AX86U. The price has gone up in the past few weeks but it is still a very good router! AX86S is a bit cheaper option with fewer processor cores and half the RAM. Still, should be good.

Another vote for the AX86U. The price has gone up in the past few weeks but it is still a very good router! AX86S is a bit cheaper option with fewer processor cores and half the RAM. Still, should be good.

so how does a router like that compare to something higher end such as to link ax6600 or the multi antenna ROG router ?? Which gives better coverage ? And can the AX86U work as router/bridge setup ?

i never tried the ax band yet, what is the bandwidth (and throughout) for a client connecting using AX200 adapter ?

thanks,

In my testing, the AX86U had the edge over the GT-AX11000 in 5 GHz. The GT was slightly better on 2.4 GHz downlink and about equal on up.
Flip through the RvR plots here. Use the selector to change plots