What's new

Best way to make wireless file server with spare RT-AC68U?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

crawfish

Occasional Visitor
I have two RT-AC68U routers, one of which is my broadband router, while the other is sitting unplugged in a closet. (The latter's broadband port was killed by a lightning strike, and while I eventually figured out how to repurpose another port for broadband, I'd since purchased a replacement, which BTW is a different version with a significantly faster UI. Except for the broadband port, the damaged router works fine.) I'd like to use the idle one to make a wireless file server. I can use either USB attached storage or connect it to a PC, and I'd like the option to do both. I have no experience with either so would appreciate some guidance. I know nothing about AIMesh, access points, etc.

I have mine setup with a 120gb SSD for Time Machine. The radios are disabled and connected as in AP mode to my Comcast/Xfinity xb6 eMTA. This also gives me four more Ethernet Ports at the Gateway.

As for the lightning strike. This can help for better protection next time. http://www.lightningsafety.com/nlsi_lhm/IEEE_Guide.pdf

I am currently in the process of updating the Earth Grounding and bonding for gas/water piping for my fiancé’s house. You can get the Gas Discharge protectors for $3.00 USD from partsexpress .com. The protection that goes at the electrical meter needs a good Earth Ground to no less than two ground rods using number 4 solid copper wiring.

While technically possible (just plug in a drive and enable sharing), I would strongly vote against it unless you plan on very minimal usage (ie don't expect to be able to get much throughput).