[Beta 384/NG] Asuswrt-Merlin 384.5 Beta is now available

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yop

New Around Here
In my case everything seems fine but DDNS. I'm using asus.com and every time I try to register my domain It returns "Unauthorized registration request!"

Apr 29 10:15:17 rc_service: httpd 385:notify_rc restart_ddns
Apr 29 10:15:17 start_ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM dyndns, wan_unit 0
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: ez-ipupdate: starting...
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: connected to nwsrv-ns1.asus.com (103.10.4.108) on port 80.
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: Asus update entry:: return: HTTP/1.1 401 |Authorization failed^M Date: Sun, 29 Apr 2018 08:15:18 GMT^M Server: Apache^M X-Powered-By: PHP/5.6.30^M Content-Length: 0^M Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8^M ^M
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: retval= 2, ddns_return_code (,401)
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: asusddns_update: 2

It is a AC5300


EDIT: Reverted back to 384.4_2 and It works again
 
Last edited:

joegreat

Very Senior Member
Bad news: The beta 1 firmware crashed 5G WLAN on my two AC87Us.
After restart 5G WLAN is disabled and the wireless config page is broken (cannot use it at all).

I did a dirty upgrade over 384.4 and a downgrade to it enabled 5G WLAN again and the config page is also working again!

Looks like a build error due to the specific AC87U Quantenna Firmware - as also the Quantenna version information is missing on the Tools page...
Try a power cycle to reset the Quantenna CPU. I haven't made any change related to Quantenna in many months, and I didn't get any similar report during the alpha stage.
So why even post if you have not done a complete factory reset ? 384 code is picky and frankly a factory reset is almost needed every flash. :rolleyes:
I confirm that a 2nd try to update worked on my AC87Us - looks like Quantenna needed the 2nd push (or a power cycle) to work with Beta 1. :cool:
 
Last edited:

LostFreq

Regular Contributor
@RMerlin In my browser (Firefox ESR 52.7.3) commit f4176d9 ("webui: set textarea_ssh_table font to Courier/monospace") causes the effective font-size to change from 13px previously to 16px now. I don't see why this happens, but an easy solution is to add an explicit font-size to the .textarea_ssh_table CSS:
Code:
font-size:13px;
 

zadigre

Occasional Visitor
In my case everything seems fine but DDNS. I'm using asus.com and every time I try to register my domain It returns "Unauthorized registration request!"

Apr 29 10:15:17 rc_service: httpd 385:notify_rc restart_ddns
Apr 29 10:15:17 start_ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM dyndns, wan_unit 0
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: ez-ipupdate: starting...
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: connected to nwsrv-ns1.asus.com (103.10.4.108) on port 80.
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: Asus update entry:: return: HTTP/1.1 401 |Authorization failed^M Date: Sun, 29 Apr 2018 08:15:18 GMT^M Server: Apache^M X-Powered-By: PHP/5.6.30^M Content-Length: 0^M Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8^M ^M
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: retval= 2, ddns_return_code (,401)
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: asusddns_update: 2

It is a AC5300


EDIT: Reverted back to 384.4_2 and It works again

I had the same problem with the Aloha release... and now also with the beta.
Apparently we absolutely need to do a factory reset to fix the problem.

I’m curious to know what is triggering this problem exactly... knowing what is the source of this problem would help us prevent that problem form occurring.

In the meantime, I’ve started using NOIP ddns...
 

Mobz

New Around Here
Apr 29 15:49:37 kernel: ERR[qos_start:3356] qos_ops is not registered!
Apr 29 15:49:37 kernel: ioctl_iqos_op_switch(1) fail!

Worry or not?

router 86U
 

Mutzli

Very Senior Member
I confirm that a 2nd try to update worked on my AC87Us - looks like Quantenna needed the 2nd push (or a power cycle) to work with Beta 1. :cool:

The AC87U is very finicky. I found that a power cycle before a new firmware flash and right after works best for this router. I also always remove any connected USB drives. I don't have to do this on any other routers. On my AC88U and AC68U I can flash it with USB drive in place and running for weeks.
 

hifiwifi

Regular Contributor
RT-AC1900P running Beta 1. My home automation power outlets are still unavailable from WAN side. Additionally, it seems I'm unable to add rules to port forwarding. After I hit "apply" they just disappear. Any help here would be appreciated.
 

lukaszzsch

Regular Contributor
I confirm that a 2nd try to update worked on my AC87Us - looks like Quantenna needed the 2nd push (or a power cycle) to work with Beta 1. :cool:

Similar issue with 86u. After updating of firmware 2.4 g radio got very unstable and my devices became dicsonecting.

Long power cycle seemed to resolve The problem.
 

Billy Chaney

Regular Contributor
Below is the results behind traditional QoS. No errors in my log. This is the best results I've ever received with dslreports. Good going Eric.
 

Attachments

  • 32779394.png
    32779394.png
    33.9 KB · Views: 712

skeal

Part of the Furniture
Since updating to 384.5 beta 1 No problems with ovpn server operations or ovpn client operations. For that matter nothing is of concern to me at all. Great work Eric! Hey one quick dumb question will the fixes for traditional QOS do anything to adaptive QOS?
 

Alaska99

Occasional Visitor
In my case everything seems fine but DDNS. I'm using asus.com and every time I try to register my domain It returns "Unauthorized registration request!"

Apr 29 10:15:17 rc_service: httpd 385:notify_rc restart_ddns
Apr 29 10:15:17 start_ddns: update WWW.ASUS.COM dyndns, wan_unit 0
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: ez-ipupdate: starting...
Apr 29 10:15:18 ddns_update: connected to nwsrv-ns1.asus.com (103.10.4.108) on port 80.
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: Asus update entry:: return: HTTP/1.1 401 |Authorization failed^M Date: Sun, 29 Apr 2018 08:15:18 GMT^M Server: Apache^M X-Powered-By: PHP/5.6.30^M Content-Length: 0^M Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8^M ^M
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: retval= 2, ddns_return_code (,401)
Apr 29 10:15:21 ddns_update: asusddns_update: 2

It is a AC5300


EDIT: Reverted back to 384.4_2 and It works again

I had same error with alpha. The only solution I found was reverted back to 384.4.2. I try the beta and and the bug still exist. I have also a AC5300. I wish the nex beta patch this bug because revert back is a pain.
 

Billy Chaney

Regular Contributor
Made an adjustment. Attached are results.
 

Attachments

  • 32779394.png
    32779394.png
    34.4 KB · Views: 479

Bartekk

New Around Here
RT-AC5300: Upgraded from 384.4 to latest original Asus (Factory reset 1) and then to the new Beta (Factory reset 2).
So far so good. WiFi has improved greatly.

OpenVPN works flawlessly, Asus DDNS registered 1st time around, Let's Encrypt cert worked as well.

Will report any issues (if any).
 

unsynaps

Senior Member
The AC87U is very finicky. I found that a power cycle before a new firmware flash and right after works best for this router. I also always remove any connected USB drives. I don't have to do this on any other routers. On my AC88U and AC68U I can flash it with USB drive in place and running for weeks.
One of the few reasons I finally ditched the 87 for an 86.

Still might bring it up to get better wifi coverage.
 

AndreiV

Very Senior Member
AC3200 flashed and running . No problems seen so far.
 

FLA_NL

Regular Contributor
Did an upgrade from 384.4_2 on a RT-AC86U. OpenVPN clients are still working, no routing problems either. I do have an issue with chrome based browsers on Android (Chrome and Brave browser). The System log->General log tab becomes unresponsive when opened, and it takes a long time for the menu items to appear. When the menu items are visible they also don't work anymore. Don't have this issue with Firefox for Android. Also Chrome on Windows doesn't have this issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Similar threads

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top