Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Beta] AB-Solution 3.9.x

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by thelonelycoder, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    This is a Beta thread. The regular release thread is here.
    Please post only Beta related topics here. Thanks.

    In order to test new features before they are released, I decided to post a public beta version. This will be a permanent place for AB-Solution 3.x beta testing.

    Announcements for new beta versions will only be made in this thread.

    November 24 2017
    AB-Solution 3.10
    is now available through the beta and release channel.
    This officially ends beta testing for now.
    See you next time, and thanks for all the good input.

    If you want to stay on the beta channel you can do so. The files in the beta channel are the exact same as in the release version.
    It will still show "AB-Solution 3.10 beta" in the AB UI header so long as you leave the beta URL.

    How to enable beta in AB-Solution
    - enter beta into the AB UI
    - continue
    - select "Set which URL to use"
    - select "Set beta URL"
    - enter the following:
    Code:
    ab-solution.info/beta
    - then a test is done if the URL is valid and if so, AB now uses the beta channel for all cu and other operations
    - enter cu into the AB UI to update all files to this beta version

    In the beta menu is an option to use the hosts files stored in the beta channel. You do not need to enable this as we are not testing the blocking file updates in this version.
    But you may enable it, the hosts files are up-to-date.

    When beta is enabled, the AB UI header adds beta to the version number and the beta URL line:

    [​IMG]

    How to disable beta in AB-Solution
    To reset to the standard release location, enter the beta function again and select reset to standard URL.
    It will ask you if you want to re-download all files. You can do that, but there's a small bug. It will only download the main file (ab-solution.sh) and not the addon files.

    You can either then run cu or enter 1233 to re-download all files from the release channel.
    Note that you will loose features not yet released in the release channel.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2017 at 1:22 PM
    pattiri, Stern, Xentrk and 6 others like this.
  2. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Reserved post
     
  3. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    @thelonelycoder You are freaking awesome sir! The script king has released a beta...yahoo! I'll be testing this for you for sure. Keep up with the fantastic programming sir it seems to be your calling! Many thanks for your effort sir. I will report any trouble with the beta here.
     
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Indeed, the last public beta was for AB-Solution 1.08, if memory serves me right. That's a while ago.
     
  5. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    I updated to beta and my ssh session looks like this.

    Code:
     :/tmp/home/root# ab-solution
        _   ___     ___      _      _   _
       /_\ | _ )___/ __| ___| |_  _| |_(_)___ _ _
      / _ \| _ \___\__ \/ _ \ | || |  _| / _ \ ' \
     /_/ \_\___/   |___/\___/_|\_,_|\__|_\___/_||_|
    
     Welcome
     This is AB-Solution 3.9 [3.9.3]
    
     looking for an installation
     found AB-Solution on /tmp/mnt/EXT4
     checking installation state
     updating ads counter
     reading services state
     starting UI
    
     A B - S O L U T I O N        A D - B L O C K I N G
    
     AB-Solution 3.9                  by thelonelycoder
    ----------------------------------------------------
     RT-AC3100 (armv7l) fw-382.1 @ 192.168.14.1
    ----------------------------------------------------
     69,636  blocked domains  5  hosts files in use
     32,753 t  551 w  0 n ads since Nov 14 07:59
    ----------------------------------------------------
    
    beta Server  ab-solution.info  beta hosts [off]
    
     i   AB-Solution     [/tmp/mnt/EXT4]
     cu  check for updates
     un  updates notify  [on] [weekly]
     bu  backup to email [on] [monthly,Key-files,tar.gz]
    
     a   ad-blocking     [on]
     l   logging         [on]
     rs  router stats    [on] [to email] [Mon @ 1:30]
    
     ps  pixelserv-tls   [192.168.14.4]
         entware device  [/tmp/mnt/EXT4]
    
     b   blocking file   [Medium] [Mon @ 2:00]
     u   update blocking file
     el  edit white or black list
    
     f   follow the logfile
     ac  update ads counter
    
     e   exit AB-Solution                   sm  sub menu
    ____________________________________________________
    
     Done  updated ads counter: 32,753 total,
     551 this week, 0 new since last count
    
     What do you want to do?
    
    
    Otherwise went real smooth.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  6. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Looks good to me, did you run cu to update all files?

    Edit: Yes, you did:
    This is AB-Solution 3.9 [3.9.3]
     
  7. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    Yes sir! It was easy and smooth!!
     
  8. Protik

    Protik Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Updated to beta without any issue, thanks!

    Do you have plans to include test versions of pixelserv-tls into the Ab-Solution beta as well?

    Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
     
  9. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    @thelonelycoder I have a quick question for you. Is there any way to remove a specific log entry that repeats itself by using a script? ASUS has a problem they need to fix but until then the log gets bigger and bigger. Any suggestions? The error is this one:
    Code:
    Nov 14 09:54:40 kernel: ERR[set_app_info_qos_meta:3361] It's a paid app, please assign a default bandwidth!
    My apologies if this is the wrong way to ask you.
     
  10. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Create a file and place this content in it, if you start it in a terminal it runs continually in the background with a 50 sec pause:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    remove_kernelERR(){
    
    sed -i '/please assign a default/d' /jffs/syslog.log /tmp/syslog.log
    sleep 50
    remove_kernelERR
    }
    remove_kernelERR
    It removes the lines in both syslog files.
    It should work without interrupting the normal writing to syslog. But I give no guarantees!
     
    L&LD likes this.
  11. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    Works but doesn't leave the terminal in a state to issue another cli. It sits there is that the sleep 50 affect?
     
  12. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I just run a test with several processes writing several different lines to two files with increasing numbers to check if some are skipped.
    One process deletes them in infrequent intervals. So far not a single line is missed. So it should be good.
     
  13. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    It works awesome but why would my terminal hang and not return to command prompt?
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  14. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Start the file from a /jffs/scripts file, I suggest at the end of services-start
    Place this in it:
    Code:
    sh /path/to/file.sh &>/dev/null &
    This runs the file in the background, with no output.
    To kill it you would have to find the process id in top and kill it with:
    Code:
    kill -HUP <process number>
     
  15. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    Thanks so much it all works!
     
  16. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3,368
    Location:
    Switzerland
    No, the Entware package manager opkg has no beta feature.
    And since pixelserv beta files are on github with inconsistent filenames, I better keep my fingers off such a feature.
    A stable Kl version will be available in due time with opkg.
     
    elorimer, Protik and L&LD like this.
  17. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    Installed Beta! Nice and easy.
     
  18. Protik

    Protik Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Sure. Sounds good.
     
  19. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    You sir are a genius my log is clear no problems at all. Thank you for this temp resolve!
     
  20. skeal

    skeal Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Location:
    Moose Jaw Saskatchewan Canada
    How do I add this err entry in my logs to your excellent removal system?
    Code:
    Nov 14 13:45:43 kernel: ERR[set_app_info_qos_meta:3335] Failed to find app info entry (10-4-132)!
    EDIT: I fixed it myself. I just added another line with the info in it to be removed. Works like a charm.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017

Share This Page