1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[Beta] Asuswrt-Merlin 380.63 Beta is now available

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Oct 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,452
    Location:
    Canada
    Asuswrt-Merlin 380.63 Beta is now available for all supported models.

    Beta 1 was pulled due to a crash occurring in the web server under certain scenarios.

    Beta 2 has been uploaded:

    Code:
    e58aeb2 webui: Fix incorrect element ID preventing charts from showing on IPTraffic monthly page
    b7bf61e Bumped revision to beta 2
    b7c6fff httpd: Fix crash on free() if no buf was allocated and the pointer was instead shared with tmp
    


    This minor release introduces graphical charts to some of the stats pages, and introduces a few other changes and fixes.

    • New QoS stats page, showing how much traffic gets assigned to the various classes, as well as the current throughput for each of these classes.
    • New charts on the Daily and Monthly traffic monitor pages
    • New charts on the Daily and Monthly IPTraffic pages
    • ARM-based routers have been upgraded to use the newer ipset 6.x. You might need to update your scripts to account for a few changes over ipset 4.x. Make sure you load the xt_set.ko module at the start of your script.
    • Linux kernel was patched against the CVE-2016-5195 (Dirty COW) security vulnerability.
    • Tor was updated to 0.2.8.9, including a few security fixes.
    • Help popups were added to some of the settings unique to Asuswrt-Merlin
    • IPv6 firewall rules can now use a client's fixed EUI64 to better handle changes in delegated IPv6 prefixes.
    • Various other fixes and changes.

    Please review the changelog for the complete list of changes.

    Things in need of testing:
    • The new charts, ensuring they display properly on different browsers and with different configurations
    • General stability following the kernel patches, especially the older MIPS kernel.

    Please keep posts in this thread on this specific release. Start a separate thread for general support questions.

    Downloads are here.
    Changelog is here.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
    Torulf, Sicario, wbennett77 and 15 others like this.
  2. vdemarco

    vdemarco Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    I just installed this, the router website is hosed.

    The error console looks like this

    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (support_site.js, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (jquery.js, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (jquery.iphone-switch.js, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (disk_functions.js, line 0)
    [Error] SyntaxError: Unexpected end of script
    (anonymous function) (client_function.js:188)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (require.min.js, line 0)
    [Error] ReferenceError: Can't find variable: $
    Global Code (index.asp:2201)
    [Error] ReferenceError: Can't find variable: require
    updateStatus (state.js:2766)
    show_banner (state.js:691)
    show_menu (state.js:1478)
    initial (index.asp:220)
    Global Code (index.asp:2252)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (form.js, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (alertImg.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (loading.gif, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (InternetScan.gif, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (wifi_hw_sw.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (USB2.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (connectstatus.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (btnspan.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (asus_router_ios_qr.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (map-iconClient.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (linetwo2.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (asustitle.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (merlin-logo.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (multiplessidstatus.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (map-iconRouter.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (line_dualwan.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (asus_router_android_qr.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (wall0.gif, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (middown_bg.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (notification.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (btn.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (map-iconInternet.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (dropdown_bt.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (contentbt_normal.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (line_two.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (midup_bg.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (title_bg.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (router_status.asp, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (inputbg.png, line 0)
    [Error] Failed to load resource: Could not connect to the server. (help_content.js, line 0)
     
  3. vdemarco

    vdemarco Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Location:
    San Jose,CA
    I just used mtd-write -i /path/to/file.trx -d linux && reboot

    I installed the old alpha version back and all is fine now.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2016
  4. jack901

    jack901 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    after reboot cannot log in had to revert via asus utility ac-56r. well that did not work, held reset and repowered and nothing ,just failed to install firmware.
    even the rest did not work as it kept the same ip,password did not use defaults.
    went to log in and just get a repeat connecting then get a failed to connect screen and cannot get anywhere.
    any ideas as cannot go back and cannot do anything tho I can winscp in but no idea of what to do.also does not matter what browser I use from ie to chrome cannot connect via the browser.
    thanks
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2016
  5. stambeccuccio

    stambeccuccio Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Italy
    flashed ok
    s.2016-10-30 02.38.59.jpg
     
  6. stambeccuccio

    stambeccuccio Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Location:
    Italy
    Which of these ciphers is the safest?
    .
    s.2016-10-30 02.44.25.jpg
     
  7. visortgw

    visortgw Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    371
    I had a similar situation to vdemarco. The main GUI page was corrupted after updating my RT-N66R to 380.63 Beta 1 (see screenshot below). By clicking on the firmware version number (and re-authenticating), I was able to get to the Firmware Upgrade page of the GUI, and I was able to successfully revert to 380.63 Alpha 1.

    FYI, I was able to upgrade my RT-AC68U without any issues.

    BetaGUI.jpeg
     
    Ache likes this.
  8. Zirescu

    Zirescu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    731
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC
    Ditto here on the AC-87U. Log messages:
    Code:
    Oct 29 20:43:56 watchdog: restart httpd
    Oct 29 20:43:56 rc_service: watchdog 462:notify_rc stop_httpd
    Oct 29 20:43:56 rc_service: watchdog 462:notify_rc start_httpd
    Oct 29 20:43:56 RT-AC87U: start httpd - SSL
    Oct 29 20:44:26 watchdog: restart httpd
    Oct 29 20:44:26 rc_service: watchdog 462:notify_rc stop_httpd
    Oct 29 20:44:26 rc_service: watchdog 462:notify_rc start_httpd
    Oct 29 20:44:26 RT-AC87U: start httpd - SSL
     
  9. bluepoint

    bluepoint Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    828

    It looks like there are classifications that are not registering. This is the QOS chart classified by priority and "VOIP and instant messaging" and "others" are not registering(zero counts) after the initial hour and 53 minutes from not too busy 3 clients at this point which I know should have numbers already. All categories were working in the Alphas but not now.

    RT-AC68P
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  10. Correlor

    Correlor Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ditto here on the AC-5300: GUI corrupted and 'watchdog: restart httpd' in log file. Reverted back to last alfa firmware.
     
  11. jack901

    jack901 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    129
    thanks to both of you ! was able to do the same after seeing this.

     
  12. ChriscomIT

    ChriscomIT Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Facing same issues here.
     
  13. Maghook

    Maghook Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    71
    RT-AC88U in ap mode, updating from 380.63a2 to 380.63b1
    ----
    Updated without NVRAM reset - noticed no GUI issues (IE11 with TPLs).
    NVRAM reset on .63b1 - still no GUI issues nor abnormal log entries noticed up to now (IE11 with TPLs).
     
  14. bayern1975

    bayern1975 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    551
    default is aes-128-cbc so you should set to default......
     
    stambeccuccio likes this.
  15. MegaTronics

    MegaTronics Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Here the same problem with the webinterface:

    Oct 30 09:37:19 watchdog: restart httpd
    Oct 30 09:37:19 rc_service: watchdog 482:notify_rc stop_httpd
    Oct 30 09:37:19 rc_service: watchdog 482:notify_rc start_httpd
    Oct 30 09:37:19 RT-AC68U: start httpd - SSL
    Oct 30 09:37:19 RT-AC68U: start httpd
    Oct 30 09:38:19 watchdog: restart httpd
    Oct 30 09:38:19 rc_service: watchdog 482:notify_rc stop_httpd
    Oct 30 09:38:19 rc_service: watchdog 482:notify_rc start_httpd
    Oct 30 09:38:19 RT-AC68U: start httpd - SSL
    Oct 30 09:38:19 RT-AC68U: start httpd


    The trick from visortgw to flash the older Alpha via the firmware link at top worked.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  16. Correlor

    Correlor Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Hello all,

    I think the broken down GUI some of us experience is caused by "Authentication Method" set to HTTPS. When I set "Authentication Method" to HTTP I have no GUI problems.
     
  17. bigmag

    bigmag Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Germany
    @RMerlin

    Good Morning from Germany
    I have a Prob with the new Build
     

    Attached Files:

    • 88u.jpg
      88u.jpg
      File size:
      72.5 KB
      Views:
      493
  18. tyreman

    tyreman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Cambridge,Ontario. Canada
    Just upgraded here. GUI is fine, will look about in a bit on router interface.Able to go around on sites fine. No pictorial corruption of main pages or stuff like that ...like some have had.

    A lot of these below in router logs..............

    "Oct 30 04:39:26 kernel: TCP: time wait bucket table overflow"


    Cleared router log, surfed web again...... now clear of above

    Checked again after more going about the web.,,,,,,, Router logs more normal now

    Will stay on this version for now
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  19. Damob9K

    Damob9K New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Also getting the same issue as visortgw and others, just about to revert to an older FW.
    RT-N66U

    Edit: Can't downgrade !! tried to go to 380.62_1 just says "Firmware upgrade unsuccessful" what now ??
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2016
  20. tyreman

    tyreman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Cambridge,Ontario. Canada

    what about load default settings,all usb stuff disconnected and start fresh?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.