What's new

BGP Router Connectivity

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

TeekieAS

New Around Here
Hello. I am new to networking, and i am getting assigned an ASN. I've also ordered a business router that supports BGP, and renting couple IPv4's. I am wondering how the BGP routers are connected to the "world" so that i can peer with other AS networks and internet exchanges. So in theory what i am wondering about is how i physically connect the router so that it has connectivity with other peers and exchanges. Do i need to have direct wired connection from an internet exchange to connect into the router, or is it enough to just connect the router to my current ISP network to ble able to peer other ASN/BGP systems, by that i mean the cables of a normal ISP company that already are connected to the internet. I'm not sure if i can use my ISP network to direct peer/connect to different exchanges and peers.

Hello. I am new to networking, and i am getting assigned an ASN. I've also ordered a business router that supports BGP, and renting couple IPv4's. I am wondering how the BGP routers are connected to the "world" so that i can peer with other AS networks and internet exchanges. So in theory what i am wondering about is how i physically connect the router so that it has connectivity with other peers and exchanges. Do i need to have direct wired connection from an internet exchange to connect into the router, or is it enough to just connect the router to my current ISP network to ble able to peer other ASN/BGP systems, by that i mean the cables of a normal ISP company that already are connected to the internet. I'm not sure if i can use my ISP network to direct peer/connect to different exchanges and peers.