1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Blue Cave AiMesh add RT-AC68U fails every time.

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by KnowsMuch, Aug 10, 2018.

  1. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Hello,

    I have tried everything I can think of to get my Blue Cave to add a node including Latest Firmware, Factory Reset both, downgrade the 68u, move devices from 1' - 20'. Blue Cave sees node and sometimes it will count to 100% and fail and other times about 50% then speed up count and fail.

    Are there any tricks to make the initial pairing a success?
    - Thanks
    KnowsMuch (But apparently not enough)
     
  2. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
  3. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    no, dont think it is implemented in 21140, cant mail you this file as I have no use for it so deleted it some time ago.
     
  5. follower

    follower Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Thank god! I was about to buy a Blue cave for a decorative node a couple of weeks ago. I won't buy it.
     
  6. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    Could you send feedback with system log, wifi log by Administrator -> Feedback function ?
     
  7. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    KnowsMuch likes this.
  8. Flying Dutchman

    Flying Dutchman Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    173
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    Sorry, but these glasses will be needed for your eyes!
    It is NOT for 66U but for 66U_B1 and so identically to all 68U-types!

    Running on mine very well, device list seems to be more stable now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2018
    KnowsMuch likes this.
  10. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
  11. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    FINALLY!!! Success!
    RT-AC68U Firmware used: Version 3.0.0.4.384.32738
    Blue Cave Firmware used: 3.0.0.4.384.32546

    Now to ALL the other configuration - VPN - WAN - LAN - STATIC IPS - DDNS - DNS ...etc..
    Thanks to everyone who offered their help on this.

    PS: Does anyone know what happens if I disable WPS now that I am set with AiMesh?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    Ronald Schwerer likes this.
  12. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    Just do it and tell us!

    Before you could safe config to easily go back if something doesnt work like supposed to.
     
  13. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    I turned OFF WPS and it seems to be functioning properly - Hooray !
    I have a feeling it will be required during the AiMesh pairing process but not once established.
     
  14. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    There is no need for AiMesh to have WPS enabled, neither for pairing nor for operation ... just tested without!

    Why do you believe it would be useful?

    UPDATE: just wrong it has automatically been enabled on parent router WITHOUT any notice!
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
  15. KnowsMuch

    KnowsMuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    After a successful node pairing I noticed WPS was enabled. I tried to disable it but a warning message popped up that said something like:
    ...or something similar to that.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    Grisu likes this.
  16. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    YES you are correct, was disabled before and didnt see it as it has been enabled without any notice, THATS BAD if they change settings without any warning!!!

    It is changeing the moment you click on search for Aimesh devices.

    @arthurlien: could you please report this back to be changed that in future the user will get a notification that WPS will be enabled in the background if you use Aimesh and search for nodes!
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    HuskyHerder and KnowsMuch like this.
  17. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    When WPS disabled and you press "search", the WebUI will popup a message as " WPS will be enabled when searching for an AiMesh Node". Have you seen these message?
     
  18. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,437
    @arthurlien: No I have NOT seen this message poping up on my 86U (used it as parent router). Maybe I have been blind on this eye.
    But after it was done I checked WPS and magically it was turn on.

    Could someone else test it please if he sees this warning when first time start using Aimesh with disabled WPS.
     
  19. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    I tested and I saw this message as a popup window in 384.21140.
     
  20. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    616
    the popup window as
     

    Attached Files: