1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Brand new AC88u 2.4Ghz not working

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by v9s, Jun 17, 2017.

  1. v9s

    v9s New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I recently bought an AC88u router as an upgrade. It worked great out of the box (though I must say that the boot times are atrocious). On the second day, I saw that the 2.4 Ghz band LED was off and on scanning wifi networks on multiple devices, the 2.4Ghz band was no where to be seen. In addition, trying to access the WebGUI would lead to a broken webpage, even after reboot.

    I reset the router, and though the WebGUI was back, the 2.4Ghz band was still not working. I have tried upgrading the firmware and flashing the original firmware back but nothing has worked.

    The box says the router is revision A5 and manufactured in 2017.

    I have never had the displeasure of owning such a flaky piece of hardware before. Is the issue related to heat (as the router did get quite warm to the touch) or is it shoddy software?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    26,927
    Location:
    Canada
    Hardware failures exist, regardless of it's it's a 20$ or a 20,000$ product.

    If after a factory default reset it still doesn't work, then you will have to RMA it.
     
  4. jmboxus

    jmboxus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Exact same issue here but with both 2.4 and 5Ghz.
    Router ordered June 6th, delivered June 13th, worked June 14th till middle of the afternoon. Ever since, no wifi, only wired connections are working.
    Hardware failure or QA issue at the factory.

    How responsive is the ASUS support to such problem? Any experience to share?
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,387
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    If it's dead out of the box - contact the seller and arrange for a return/exchange. Most will accept exchange/returns for a reasonable amount of time.
     
  6. v9s

    v9s New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Well, I did an RMA and got a replacement.

    Day1: Everything was working great. Decided not to upgrade FW as I didn't want to jinx anything.

    Day2: Notice that 2.4ghz clients would have frequent internet drop-outs. 5Ghz working perfectly. Delete the 2.4Ghz profile on iPad and try connecting again - incorrect password error. Update firmware to 3941, reset the router - the same error remains:

    I can see the 2.4ghz network, but cannot connect.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    26,927
    Location:
    Canada
    Look for interference sources, as the 2.4 GHz band is very overcrowded. Microwave ovens for instance emit EM within that same frequency range. A few weeks ago, I saw my tablet disconnect from a friend's wifi as he started using his microwave oven :)
     
  8. v9s

    v9s New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Haven't used a microwave during this time. It can't be interference. My old dual band router works perfectly on both bands. This one was fine out of the box, but a day later, the 2.4ghz band craps out. If it was interference, the issue would've cropped out right out of the box, no?
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    26,927
    Location:
    Canada
    Not if it's something that isn't running 24/7, like a Bluetooth device. Doesn't mean it's definitely the cause, however it's the first thing I would consider before considering the possibility that both routers died so quickly.
     
  10. heavyperil

    heavyperil New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    I have what appears to be the same issue as the OP.

    2.4Ghz not broadcasting and led not lit. Also noticed I’m unable to change the channel from 'auto' in the 2.4Ghz settings, and there’s no Wireless 2.4GHz MAC address.

    Have tried a reset, and re-uploading firmware (both latest OEM and Merlin), but no joy. Under the Merlin firmware, the symptoms are a little different, the router appears to broadcast 5Ghz under the 2.4Ghz SSID.

    Luckily I can still return the unit. Just wondering if anyone had any other suggestions I could try first? I don’t think it’s interference in our flat (previous router is still fine), but can’t rule anything out from next door.
     
  11. Prince

    Prince New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    I have the same issue with my RT-AC3100. Spent the last night and the whole day today trying to fix the issue.
    I'm using the latest Merlin FW, it seems that the 2.4ghz is disabled for some reason but when I check the radio its "on".
    I hope there's someone out there has a fix for this.
     
  12. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,387
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I wouldn't worry too much about bluetooth- heck, I've got an old Anycom BT 2.0+EDR Class 1 dongle - it's hot at 20 dBm - in any event, Bluetooth is not a significant interferer with WiFi - it's narrow band, and jumps across the enter band very quickly...

    I suspect he has a bum unit, if the regular reset issues don't work - take it back to the store, or contact Asus for an RMA...
     
  13. Prince

    Prince New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    I've had my AC3100 for a couple month already and it's working fantastically and all of a sudden the 5Ghz stopped working so I checked on it and there was a Firmware update.
    I did the Firmware upgrade and then the 2.4ghz stopped working, I tried to install the latest Merlin firmware but still, the 2.4ghz is still not working all I see is that the 2.4ghz is disabled but when I checked the radio it's on.

    upload_2017-7-24_21-50-41.png

    upload_2017-7-24_21-51-13.png

    upload_2017-7-24_21-51-41.png
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2017
  14. cgb223

    cgb223 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    I have a brand new ac88u with the same problem as the OP. Symptoms match the screenshots that Prince posted.

    It ran for about a day then the 2.4Ghz band went away. Trying to access the WebGUI would lead to a broken webpage, even after reboot. Tried restoring original fw, wiping nvram, switching settings around, loading older versions of the fw, etc, but nothing restored the 2.4Ghz.

    I found a few other threads reporting similar issues. Could anything in recent patches to the official fw or any changes to Merlin fw be causing this?

    I am in a downtown, high-density, wifi area - but I've never had trouble before (and my old router still works fine). I also wonder if it could have anything to do with the "smart connect" feature. I don't use it, just curious if it could be related.

    ---

    BTW thank you, RMerlin, for writing/maintaining this project. I wouldn't even consider buying Asus hw if it wasn't for this project and Shibby's tomato fw.
     
  15. Graphiti

    Graphiti New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    I am having the EXACT same issue! Mine is brand new out of the box . I am using the same firmware (Merlin) I tried downgrading to the manufacturers and same result. I did a factory reset too and no luck yet. I am about to send it back! I have spent several hours on this to no avail. I should add I am a senior network admin and have set up many firewalls and networks both large scale enterprise and small business.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  16. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    What version do you all have? Just curious if these have the BCM4366E chip in them.
     
  17. JemTheWire

    JemTheWire Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    UK, Manchester
    Just out of curiosity, how do you find out which chipset you have? My 88U is hardware version A2. Tempting fate here, but it's been rock solid since day one. Running Merlin of course
     
  18. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    A2's have the BCM4366 which are Non working MU-MIMO chips. Nothing wrong with the router just no MU-MIMO. False advertisement on the box and website. Broadcom's fault not Asus.
     
  19. JemTheWire

    JemTheWire Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Location:
    UK, Manchester
    Thanks. I don't use MU-MIMO and don't intend to anyway. But thanks again for the info.
     
  20. sm00thpapa

    sm00thpapa Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,742
    No problem. But if it says it on the box it should have it enabled. Last time I jump on a router before Tim's review.
     
  21. calle

    calle New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Hello everyone!

    I got the AC88u just a few days ago - everything worked fine for a while. Merlin/openvpn running smoothly then all of sudden 2,4Ghz radio died. I´ve tried all the normal things like, OEM-firmware, reset etc but to no avail.. HW-version A5, maybe something fishy in this chipset? Do you all have the same HW as me?
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!