What's new

Budget router with good coverage ?(c1200,rt-ac1200, dir-842 or rt-ac53)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Which router should I choose?

• D-link dir-842 (80 USD)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Asus RT-AC53 (85 USD)

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Asus RT-AC1200(89 USD)

Votes: 4 80.0%
  • TP-Link Archer c1200 (89 USD)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BigBrainedBrett

New Around Here
Hi, newbie here.

So I'm looking to buy a router for my mom's house. It's an L shaped one-story house. The router will be placed at the top of the L and I want the signal to reach a a room at the "toe" of the L. Her current router is a 10 year old unreliable 20$ piece of -- that constantly needs to reset and doesn't reach the room I'm staying in when I'm visiting. It's annoying for me but unfortunately it's not very important to her so she's unwilling to move the router to a more central location and she's not willing to spend a lot of money for a decent networking solution.

The only thing I'm looking for is coverage and reliability. Her budget is ~90 USD but I live in Sweden where router prices are high. Features like 3g/4g modem/file server/print server will not be used. She's got a 100/100 mbit fiber connection but speed is not very important. Wired performance does not matter since all devices will be conncted wireless. I've been mainly looking at routers with 3+ external antennas since I imagine it can provide a bit better range in certain situations. Reliability is important because I can't go over there to help every time the Internet goes down.

Router prices are high in my country and popular choices like the Asus RT-AC58U, Asus RT-N66U, Asus RT-AC1200G Plus, D-Link DIR-878/9 are outside of my budget.