What's new

Build a home network for under $1,200

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

magnus_ca

Occasional Visitor
Hi All,

I just got done reading through the 'help me build me build a top of the line setup' thread a few posts down, which parallels my upgrade project. Rather than hijack his/her thread I thought it'd be best to start my own...

I'm a self taught part-time IT Manager at a small company (<50 emp). I'm not formerly trained but consider myself scrappy when it comes to computers and networking. I've gotten our company through an ERP upgrade, server upgrades, email system migrations, firewall upgrades, setting up VPN's, yatta yatta...so I'm not a guru by any means but have familiarity with Enterprise level IT concepts and hardware.

I'm trying to implement a solid wireless network over at least 4,000 square feet (single story). The former owner ran CAT5E to most of the house (via wall jacks) from a utility closet. I'd liked to use the existing lines for hardwiring stationary network devices and as an Ethernet backbone for wireless.

I setup Google Wifi for my folks, which is working great for them, but I'm not crazy about its performance. If I'm paying for 400/20 Mbps I want to see it on my wireless clients, especially if I'm in a room with an AP. I tried Eero first in my home but wasn't crazy about its performance either. I have Plume Superpods in my home right now, which have been great (the verdict is still out on coverage). I'm consistently seeing better than advertised speeds on my wireless devices which is great...but I'm not sure I'm happy with my network as a whole.