What's new

Cable miswire diagnostics, poor performance

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Alan Bergman

New Around Here
First I want to introduce myself. I’m not experienced at all in networking. I can build and fix practically anything, but home networks is pretty darn new to me. YouTube only gets you so far and sometime clarification is needed, so please bare with me on my lack of knowledge and expertise of the topic.

Ok, in the process of building our “smart net zero homestead” I wanted to set up a legit home network.

I ran conduit out from my home to my shop for power and a separate conduit run for data.

Pulled through the data conduit is a shielded Cat 6 rated for direct burial, pretty heavy duty stuff. This Cat 6 line runs from my router to a PoE switch in my shop. Currently it runs a Unifi Access Point and TV.

In the process of adding a second access point (for outdoors) and two PoE cameras I discovered I was only getting 10 mb/s in the shop, standing next to the access point.

In the house, I’d get 200+mb/s. So, being the colorblind individual I am, I crimped in two new terminals figuring I messed it up. No change.

The cable is shielded and drain wire is grounded. Volt meter doesn’t indicate any noise. The only other item in the conduit is a signal wire for the CT sensors for the solar side of my energy monitor. The total run of the Cat 6 cable is about 150 feet.

I went and got a cheap Southwire 550 tester and it says miswire.

I crimped new terminals on again...and again, triple checking to make sure it was correct. Even had the wife verify. Same issue, no change.