What's new

Can a router be too slow to handle a fast enough Cable internet connection?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Maximilian

New Around Here
So I have Virgin Media 350mbps cable internet. And when using the Virgin provided Hitron router I can get 350-400mbps down. However kicking it into modem mode and connecting it to my TP Link Archer C7v5 so I can use the C7 as a router results in a maximum of ~200mbps down.

Could the TP link be too slow or something? This is all wired CAT6 cable btw, no wireless comes into the equation.

However kicking it into modem mode and connecting it to my TP Link Archer C7v5 so I can use the C7 as a router results in a maximum of ~200mbps down.
I have no personal experience with that router but according to wikidevi there is very little difference between the v5 and the v2. The review of the v2 on SNB says it can do >800Mbps. Looking at posts on the internet it appears to use "hardware NAT" to achieve those speeds, similar to Asus routers. If I disable hardware NAT on my Asus the throughput also drops to ~200Mbps. So look for any "hardware NAT" settings on the router. Things like QoS can disable it.

I have no personal experience with that router but according to wikidevi there is very little difference between the v5 and the v2. The review of the v2 on SNB says it can do >800Mbps. Looking at posts on the internet it appears to use "hardware NAT" to achieve those speeds, similar to Asus routers. If I disable hardware NAT on my Asus the throughput also drops to ~200Mbps. So look for any "hardware NAT" settings on the router. Things like QoS can disable it.

Ah awesome, thanks! Yeah I think you've hit the nail on the head.