1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Can ASUS Arch13 and mifi 7730L work together again ?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Mr_P, Nov 7, 2018.

  1. Mr_P

    Mr_P New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Hello , I've had an ASUS ARCH13 router and Mifi 7730L working before a firmware upgrade. Forgot to save my configs and now I can't seem to get them to talk. Here is my setup

    Mifi
    Firmware 3.5 (Only version I can find)
    LAN x.x.1.1
    DMZ x.x.1.9 (Have tried without it, no luck either)
    DHCP range x.x.11 - x.x.1.111

    Arch13
    Firmware .8375 (Latest that I found) ASUSWRT
    Static WAN IP
    MASK 255.255.255.0
    WAN IP x.x.1.9
    LAN x.x.1.200
    No DHCP

    I've always had the USB modem type set to auto. Tried a couple of others, no luck.

    When the mifi is first connected I see the internet light come on , then it disappears.
    The mifi does not show the router conenction.

    I can connect my phone to the router and it works except for double NAT, but at least it works.

    This jetpack is my only internet option for my home.

    Any help is much appriciated, thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    Power off the RT-ACRH13.
    • Does the Verizon Jetpack® MiFi® 7730L internet light come on and stay on?
      • Yes - Then you have probably misconfigured the RT-ACRH13
      • No - Then there is an issue either with the Verizon Jetpack® MiFi® 7730L or Verizon network
    If you determine that the the RT-ACRH13 is misconfigured, go to Advanced Settings >Administration > Operation Mode tab. What you want to use is Access Point mode.
     
  4. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,294
  5. Mr_P

    Mr_P New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you for the reply, previously the modem was not in AP mode. I have the mifi connected via USB and also the wireless radio on . I can connect from my laptop to the mifi and it doesn't show the router as being connected. The internet is accessible through the mifi though. The internet light on the router comes on, when the mifi is first connected, but goes out about 15 seconds later. I think the 3.5 firmware is not compatable with the ASUS router firmware.

    I have reloaded the previous firmwares on the ASUS router and it didn't seem to make a difference. I will re-try them tonight starting with 8347, then 8228.

    Thank you
     
  6. ApexRon

    ApexRon Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    Apex, NC
    The ASUS RT-ACRH13 needs to be in AP mode, not the modem. The RT-ACRH13 will connect via WiFi to the Verizon Jetpack® MiFi® 7730L. You can connect via the USB-C port if you have a USB-C to Ethernet adapter.
    • How are you attempting to connect the ASUS to the MiFi? Be as explicit as possible.
     
  7. Mr_P

    Mr_P New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Using the usb port on the router to the usb port on the mifi
     
  8. Mr_P

    Mr_P New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    So.... I've taken the 7730l sim card and installed it into my old 4620 mifi. Everything works fine. The latst 7730l firmware 3.5 version is a no go with the ASUS 3.0.0.4.380_8375 firmware. Does anyone know if I can force the old pre 3.A (buggy restarts) firmware to the 7730L. I've heard Verizon will force the firmware update via OTA, but I'm not sure.
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!