What's new

Cannot See RT-AC68U in Win 10 'Computers'

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ydnaroo

Regular Contributor
Hi. I have RT-68U running Merlin 384.9. I'm trying to set up a simple share using a drive in a USB socket on the router. I've done what I think is necessary in the router but when I go back to Win 10 explorer I cannot see the router in the Network-Computers area. The router appears in the Network Infrastructure section but not in the Computers area. All the other computers and my NAS appear in the window but not the RT-AC68U. The router is set as master browser. Is there anything I need to set in the router to make it appear in Windows? Any help appreciated. Cheers - Y

I’ve no experience in this area but do you need to turn on Network Place (Samba) Share on the router?

USB Application > Media services and Servers > Network Place (Samba) share tab

For starters are you at least able to map the network drive on Windows? Then you’ll have access until you’ve worked out why NETBIOS isn’t making it visible. May work with smb v1 as Colin said

https://superuser.com/questions/1202441/windows-10-not-showing-computers-in-network-in-file-browser

“The feature you are talking about is called "computer browser". It uses a 1996 technology based on SMB version 1.0. It has never been reliable (because it uses broadcast and NetBIOS) and Microsoft is planning to deprecate it. Even if your Windows Firewall rules allow such traffic, the computers may still not appear.”

Hi. Thanks all for your replies. I've just got in and have to go out again for the evening (uk time). I'll have a look later/in the morning and get back then. Thanks again - Y

Hi again.