1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Can't for my life open port 51413 for Transmission

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by AnnaX, Aug 6, 2019.

  1. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    I tried it all, I can't seem to be able to open port 51413 for Transmission on a Asus RT-N66U running Asuswrt-Merlin 380.70.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. QuikSilver

    QuikSilver Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    BFE
    Could you tell us what all you have tried? Also why still on 380.70??
     
  3. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3,401
    Location:
    USA
    Vexira likes this.
  4. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    Because that is the last version for that router model.
    Indeed I am! I run a VPN client in AsusWRT-Merlin firmware, constantly on and the have binded Transmission to an internal ip which is routed through the VPN-tunnel.
     
    bobpow likes this.
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    All the ports are open when using an OpenVPN client on 380.70. How are you determining that port 51413 is not open?

    Bear in mind that you would have to be connecting to a VPN server that allows P2P connections. If you want to forward a particular port like 51413 you would have to ask them to set it up on their servers for which they usually charge an additional fee.
     
  6. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    Hi, thank you for taking the time to address this issue of mine.

    I tried https://canyouseeme.org/ and also Transmission lists port 51413 as being closed. I tried opening the port by running a firewall-start script but to no avail. My VPN provider allows P2P-connections (I use Anonine).
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    This is expected behaviour. The firewall-start script won't help you because the port would have to be forwarded by your VPN provider.
     
  8. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    https://help.anonine.com/support/solutions/articles/5000792702-port-forwarding-faq
     
    QuikSilver likes this.
  9. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
  10. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    You need to be checking port 11167.
     
    QuikSilver likes this.
  11. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    Why is that?
     
  12. QuikSilver

    QuikSilver Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    BFE
    Public port -> Outside looking in (or outside/public facing)
    Local Port -> Inside looking out (inside network)
     
  13. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    I understand. I checked the port through the website and its still closed. I guess I will need to make a configuration on my router as well?
     
  14. QuikSilver

    QuikSilver Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    BFE
    Yes


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    Would it be done from GUI or through Putty, Im guessing Putty since Transmission seems to run on a lower level.
     
  16. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,105
    Location:
    UK
    You've already stated that you've made non-standard modifications to Transmission to get it to work through the VPN. We don't know what those modifications are or the implications of those changes.
     
    dosborne and QuikSilver like this.
  17. QuikSilver

    QuikSilver Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    BFE
    I have to agree with @ColinTaylor. We are just throwing darts in the dark. How did you make changes previously regarding the port? GUI or putty?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    dosborne likes this.
  18. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    I have removed Entware and Transmission, I reformatted the JFFS partition.

    I still cannot open up the port, right now I have set my VPN provider, Anonine, to open port 51413 and I have also configured port forwarding on the router as below:
    [​IMG]
     
  19. QuikSilver

    QuikSilver Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    BFE
    You need to open 11167 not 51413 on the router. 11167 is the public facing port.......

    See this...it may help.

    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1037906
     
  20. AnnaX

    AnnaX Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Internets
    Thanks, but it still doesn't work.
    [​IMG]