What's new

Cat6 Cable Damaged - tester shows 1,2,3,X,X,6,X,X

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Noxid86

New Around Here
Hello, I'm new here and was hoping someone could help me with some basic questions. As the title states, my newly installed 230 foot direct burial cat6 cable is showing 1,2,3,X,X,6,X,X on the cable tester. I didn't notice until earlier my speeds dropped to 0.5mbps and I was evicted from a zoom room. When I spotted this on the tester, I re-fit both ends of the cable. I'm new to this and thought I'd made a poor connection. After replacing both ends the tester shows the same result. I'm left to assume that somewhere in this very long very inaccessible cable there is a place where, according to my reading, my blue and brown cables have been cut. Is there a way to test where along the length the cut is without just chopping the cable in half? Additionally, I'm now getting 10mbps and I'm on DSL. Are the remaining wires sufficient to carry my connection or should I expect repeated interruptions?

Thank you!

Replace the cable run in a protective pipe with a new cable. You're just asking for more trouble as things go from bad to worse if you wait.

I don't suppose you have access to a TDR (time domain reflectometer)? Otherwise no.

DSL that i am familiar with (ATT) only requires a single pair for basic service. If you have higher DSL speeds (say 50 mbit), you likely need a bonded pair, so 4 wires. You may have to change the pinout to get 1 or 2 good pairs in the right pinout for the connection to the modem. i had mine on a punch down block which made it easy.

However, you will not be able to use the cable for anything else in the future.

Does your phone work over this cable ?