What's new

CFE questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

edsyl

Occasional Visitor
Merlin:
I am not a CFE expert, nor do I want to be...lol

I have been doing my reading about the ASUS implementation still being a 32K NVRAM version, but with a virtual 64K support?

This puzzles me and I was wondering if you could clear this point up and whether or not I need to be concerned about this?

What are the advantages/disadvantages of a 32K vs 64K CFE implementation?
Does the ASUS implementation suffer at all for it still being 32K for the 66U?

Thanks in advance for all the efforts,
Regards
Ed

Think of it as the BIOS of a router. It's the first piece of code that gets run at power on time, it initializes basic hardware, allows recovery and such, before transferring control to the Linux kernel, which in turns will boot the actual firmware.

OK but what does a 64K version DO for me as a user of this router?
And does Merlin's version need it or would it even matter?
Regards
Ed

If you are sticking with asus fw or Merlin's then you don't need to do anything. As long as you are running a version newer than .220(not positive) you for all intents and purposes have 64k nvram.

I converted mine because I like dd-wrt, which I run on my linksys e3000, I tried it with the rt-n66u but found Merlin's better.
Although I have not tried the very latest dd-wrt on it.

Think of it as the BIOS of a router. It's the first piece of code that gets run at power on time, it initializes basic hardware, allows recovery and such, before transferring control to the Linux kernel, which in turns will boot the actual firmware.

OK but what does a 64K version DO for me as a user of this router?
And does Merlin's version need it or would it even matter?
Regards