1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. SNBForums Code of Conduct

    SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

    Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

    The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Change "workgroup" in an AiMesh router ...

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by Leguar, Feb 13, 2020 at 6:28 PM.

  1. Leguar

    Leguar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Denmark
    Have an RT-AX88U (primary) bound to an RT-AC68U node (AiMesh).
    My LAN's workgroup name is "GW43", but my node shows up as
    "WORKGROUP".
    How can I change the node (RT-AC68U) to be in the same workgroup ??
    Thanks ...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,571
    Location:
    UK
    SSH into the node and issue the following command.
    Code:
    nvram get st_samba_workgroup
    If that returns "WORKGROUP" then change it as follows:
    Code:
    nvram set st_samba_workgroup="GW43"
    nvram commit
    Then reboot the node to see if it works.
     
    a5m and L&LD like this.
  3. Leguar

    Leguar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Denmark
    ---
    Thank you Colin,
    Will try it over the weekend. If it doesnt work, I will disconnet the node,
    and do the change with the RT-AC68U, and the connect it again as node
    for the RT-AX88U.
    Thanks
     
  4. Leguar

    Leguar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Denmark
    @Colin,
    Thanks for your advise. Did it and all is super :)
    Do you have a link to all these "nvram" commands ??
     
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    10,571
    Location:
    UK
    Glad to hear it worked.

    There's no documentation for nvram particularly because it's just a way of manipulating variables in flash memory. So like any other programming environment the variable names and their meaning could be anything.

    If you want to have a look at all the currently defined variables enter the following command:
    Code:
    nvram show
     
    a5m likes this.
  6. Leguar

    Leguar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Denmark
    @colin,
    Wow - nice to know. Great and thanks again :)