What's new

Connect FC to Existing Ethernet LAN

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

cdusseau

New Around Here
I posted this in switches because my primary question regards the capability of switch vs what I would like to setup.

I've attached simple map of my setup. The only real component missing is the connection that the switch would provide from the OpenFiler box to the existing ethernet LAN via FC.

Now I am brand new to the FC area, so I'm not even sure what I want here is possible. Is my switch (or any other) capable of allowing clients on an ethernet LAN the ability to read from a share hosted on the OpenFiler box via FC? I realize that I could forgo FC and use ethernet, but the whole purpose of this was to widen the bottleneck I currently get by using ethernet from storage to LAN.

Any input is appreciated, questions ofc are welcome.

Thanks

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    10.1 KB · Views: 558
I don't think you can do what you want with the 3COM switch. FC over Ethernet does exist, but it ain't cheap.

I don't think you can do what you want with the 3COM switch. FC over Ethernet does exist, but it ain't cheap.

So basically, unless my budget allows it, which it probably wont, I'm stuck with needing a DAS server to convert the FC share to and ethernet share, which keeps the same bottleneck I was trying to eliminate :(

One question though, why purpose do the SFP ports on the switch serve then? Just to connect FC to FC?

In Ethernet switches, SFP modules are usually there for media conversion, usually for different flavors of fiber for 10 GbE.

For FC connection, you need protocol and media conversion. SFP modules don't do protocol conversion.