1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Connecting Aimesh with 2 Gbps Link Aggregation

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by rinku2012, Aug 11, 2018.

  1. rinku2012

    rinku2012 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Hello,

    i have 2 GT-AC5300 routers which are connected in Aimesh. i am very happy that Aimesh is working as advertised.
    Below is my home setup

    I have 4 bedrooms, living area located in 3 floors
    all the 4 bedrooms and living area are connected with Wired Ethernet ( 2 ports on every wall jack)
    one Jack is being used for Cat5e cable and another jack is telephone jack. Internally both the jacks has Cat5e cabling
    all these ports are connected to a switch in my closet.
    All ethernet ports are connected to 8 port switch. and all telephone jacks are connected to some telephone patch panel. i can make these telephone wiring to ethernet standards and can connect them to switch

    As i mentioned above, Main Switch is located on 3rd floor closet, My Modem, 1x GT-AC5300 router is in living area.
    Cat5e cable is connected from Modem to Router and from Router i have connected Cat5e cable to a switch ( in living area). i have connected another cable from switch to my wall plate jack
    Second GT-AC5300 router is located on 3rd floor. I have configured Aimesh using ethernet connection from one of my bedroom wallplate jack.

    My question here is if i make all the telephone jacks to Ethernet standard cable and connect them to a switch, can i connect my Main router and 2nd Aimesh Node using 2 Gbps Port aggregation ?
    i am aware that i need to replace both switches ( Switch located near my living area and switch near my main closet)

    will this setup work ?. if so can someone help me here on how to set it up
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. rinku2012

    rinku2012 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    can anyone help me here
     
  4. doczenith1

    doczenith1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    MI
    My knowledge on how the link aggregation works with the Asus routers is limited to posts that I've read on the this site. It is my understanding that you will need 2+ clients simultaneously using the link to take advantage of the 2 Gbps bandwidth. A single client can only use 1 Gbps, not 2. I have no idea on whether aimesh supports LA but in order to benefit from it you would need as mentioned earlier two clients connected to the second GT-AC5300 both requesting a Gbps of data at the same time. Of course this also means that you need a device connected to the first GT-AC5300 that is able to supply the 2 Gbps of data. And there is the catch....if you're using LA to connect to the second router then you are not able to use LA to connect a 2 Gbps capable device to the first router unless I am missing something and the GT-AC5300 can utilize two LA's at the same time.
     
  5. drabisan

    drabisan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    @rinku2012 it's not an easy to answer question.
    TBH I would need to capture packets between router and node to be able to answer.
    The question is not if this will work. It should work assuming that you're building a link aggregation between GT#1 and switch#1, another between switch#1 and switch#2 and another between switch#2 and GT#2.
    The real question is "will AiMesh actually use the 2x1G links". And that's where I can't answer because I don't exactly know what's the traffic between router and node. If Asus uses any type of encapsulation for user traffic between router and node the answer is "it won't use". If there's no encapsulation, definitely it will work - traffic from 2 clients may/will take different paths. As @doczenith1 correctly stated, one single client won't be able to exceed 1Gbps, but that should be ok, it's impossible to connect a client to node to exceed 1Gbps cause you'll have no link aggregation facing one client and wireless is wireless.
     
  6. rinku2012

    rinku2012 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks for the response @doczenith1 and @drabisan
    I have a Desktop where i stored all my personal images and videos and that desktop has 2 Lan ports. i can use that as Source by doing Lan teaming
     
  7. drabisan

    drabisan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    No, that's the exact scenario that doesn't work!
    You really need 2 sources, a bond on desktop side is a single source.
     
  8. rinku2012

    rinku2012 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Messages:
    31
    I understand that i need 2 sources. my main intention is that if i have 1 source that is capable of doing 2 Gbps output, then if i have 2 destinations ( like 1 desktop has 2 Gbps port and 2 seperate laptops have 1 Gb port each) then i can utilize the speed right ?
    this is my main intention
     
  9. Grisu

    Grisu Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    760
  10. drabisan

    drabisan Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    290
    You can do some reading about how 802.3ad works. No, what you're looking for it won't work!
    Maybe it's easier to say: 1 mac address will use 1G no matter how many mac addresses are on the other side?
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!