What's new

connmon - Internet connection monitoring

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
v2.6.0
Updated 2020-05-28

Monitor latency, jitter and packet loss for your internet connection. Graphs available on the Addons page of the WebUI. Runs every 5 minutes via cron, for 30s.

connmon is free to use under the GNU General Public License version 3 (GPL 3.0).

This project is hosted on GitHub

Love the script and want to support future development? Any and all donations gratefully received!
PayPal donation
Buy me a coffee

Supported firmware versions
You must be running firmware Merlin 384.15/384.13_4 or Fork 43E5 (or later) Asuswrt-Merlin

Installation
Using your preferred SSH client/terminal, copy and paste the following command, then press Enter:
Code:
/usr/sbin/curl --retry 3 "https://raw.githubusercontent.com/jackyaz/connmon/master/connmon.sh" -o "/jffs/scripts/connmon" && chmod 0755 /jffs/scripts/connmon && /jffs/scripts/connmon install
Usage
To launch the connmon menu after installation, use:
Code:
connmon
If this does not work, you will need to use the full path:
Code:
/jffs/scripts/connmon
Updating
Launch connmon and select option u
 
Last edited:

thelonelycoder

Part of the Furniture
Are you retired, jobless, won the lottery or did your wife leave you?
:D:D:D
 

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
Are you retired, jobless, won the lottery or did your wife leave you?
:D:D:D
Looking for ways to supplement the income to get the wife a ticket to MCM Comic Con :p (she loves Misha Collins and he's a guest)

(not to mention moving costs due to landlord selling the place I'm renting :( )
 

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Jack Yaz, I had to try this on my RT-AC86U. :)

It installed no problem. It even ran the initial tests, but there is nothing showing in the graphs yet (I'm assuming I need to let it run a while, no problem).

The only little niggle I see is that the Run Ping Test Now button doesn't respond. Almost, like it is clicking/clicked, if you know what I mean? Maybe this needs some time too?

Thanks again for another great script to be able to play with. :)

Edit: Oh, I'm running 384.11 Alpha 3, btw. ;)
 

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
It installed no problem. It even ran the initial tests, but there is nothing showing in the graphs yet (I'm assuming I need to let it run a while, no problem).
First data should be graphed within 5-10 minutes (due to data points in the rrd)

The only little niggle I see is that the Run Ping Test Now button doesn't respond. Almost, like it is clicking/clicked, if you know what I mean? Maybe this needs some time too?
Ah yes...forgot that bug....wait 30s and the page will refresh automagically :D (I need to patch in the Loading.... bit)
 

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
First data should be graphed within 5-10 minutes (due to data points in the rrd)


Ah yes...forgot that bug....wait 30s and the page will refresh automagically :D (I need to patch in the Loading.... bit)
Should be fixed, run u in the menu

EDIT: also run
Code:
connmon startup
after updating
 

joe scian

Senior Member
running great on an RT-AC-5300 thanks Jack
 

L&LD

Part of the Furniture

joe scian

Senior Member
Jack are the results posted to syslog and are the results printed on graphs in a message as per speedtest? Im not seeing either at present when I press Run ping test now button.

PS - what time do the tests run please?
 

Jack Yaz

Part of the Furniture
Jack are the results posted to syslog and are the results printed on graphs in a message as per speedtest? Im not seeing either at present when I press Run ping test now button
No to both currently. Due to the 5 minute frequency I didn't want to flood syslog. Showing the last result in the UI I can do though

Graphs should get new data points every 5 minutes now
 

Butterfly Bones

Very Senior Member
No to both currently. Due to the 5 minute frequency I didn't want to flood syslog. Showing the last result in the UI I can do though

Graphs should get new data points every 5 minutes now
Hmmmm, shows in my syslog (until I get it filtered with Scribe syslog-ng that is).
Code:
Apr 17 16:32:57 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[4950]: Welcome to connmon v1.0.0, a script by JackYaz
Apr 17 16:32:58 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[4957]: Checking your router meets the requirements for connmon
Apr 17 16:35:01 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6127]: Lock file found (age: 1 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:11 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6182]: Lock file found (age: 11 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:27 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6197]: Lock file found (age: 27 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:45 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6909]: No new version - latest is v1.0.0
Apr 17 16:41:46 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9043]: Downloading latest version (v1.0.0) of connmon
Apr 17 16:41:47 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9071]: connmon successfully updated
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 rc_service[32063]: httpds 32063:notify_rc start_connmon
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 custom_script[1]: Running /jffs/scripts/service-event (args: start connmon) - max timeout = 120s
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9740]: Lock file found (age: 30 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
 

joe scian

Senior Member
Hmmmm, shows in my syslog (until I get it filtered with Scribe syslog-ng that is).
Code:
Apr 17 16:32:57 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[4950]: Welcome to connmon v1.0.0, a script by JackYaz
Apr 17 16:32:58 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[4957]: Checking your router meets the requirements for connmon
Apr 17 16:35:01 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6127]: Lock file found (age: 1 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:11 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6182]: Lock file found (age: 11 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:27 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6197]: Lock file found (age: 27 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
Apr 17 16:35:45 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[6909]: No new version - latest is v1.0.0
Apr 17 16:41:46 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9043]: Downloading latest version (v1.0.0) of connmon
Apr 17 16:41:47 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9071]: connmon successfully updated
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 rc_service[32063]: httpds 32063:notify_rc start_connmon
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 custom_script[1]: Running /jffs/scripts/service-event (args: start connmon) - max timeout = 120s
Apr 17 16:45:30 RT-AC86U-4608 connmon[9740]: Lock file found (age: 30 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
I was referring to the ping jitter and line quality metrics
 

Butterfly Bones

Very Senior Member

Swistheater

Very Senior Member
when i use connmon it tells me there is a lock file and will not open the menu, but when i type in the long way it opens the menu....
 

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
when i use connmon it tells me there is a lock file and will not open the menu, but when i type in the long way it opens the menu....
This is repeatable? I didn't notice this aspect.

Maybe you're just impatient? Or, it was running a test in the background as it does? ;)
 

Butterfly Bones

Very Senior Member
This is repeatable? I didn't notice this aspect.

Maybe you're just impatient? Or, it was running a test in the background as it does? ;)
Oh, yeah!
Code:
connmon[6127]: Lock file found (age: 1 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
connmon[6182]: Lock file found (age: 11 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
connmon[6197]: Lock file found (age: 27 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
 

Swistheater

Very Senior Member
This is repeatable? I didn't notice this aspect.

Maybe you're just impatient? Or, it was running a test in the background as it does? ;)
I figured I just wanted a second opinion other than my own:rolleyes:.
 

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Oh, yeah!
Code:
connmon[6127]: Lock file found (age: 1 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
connmon[6182]: Lock file found (age: 11 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
connmon[6197]: Lock file found (age: 27 seconds) - stopping to prevent duplicate runs
I figured I just wanted a second opinion other than my own:rolleyes:.
To be clear here, I did notice that myself on the first install. :)

But what I was asking here; is this repeatable 'on command' when using the connmon vs. /jffs/scripts/connmon commands?

As I said, I've used both but did not find this behavior, it seems consistent for me (and I made sure I was within the scheduled runs too).
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top