What's new

Continued from previous post...AX58 vs. AX 68

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

wh7qq

Started new post rather than poach on a prior topic.

L&LD asserts:"AX68 is a better router" (than AX58).

I have no personal experience with either...just considering the options should my RT-N66 give up the ghost. I initially chose the '58 because its price and its more recent cpu and release date. It is $50 US less expensive on Amazon and released 6 years later. Those aren't functional reasons so my question is what is $50 buying? My setup is very simple: 2 Ethernet devices plus pi-hole and 2 wireless, home-brew IoT thingies that don't need speed. No Alexa, smart phone, smart TV. etc. and no intention to add same in the future. Likely both are overkill.

Likely both are overkill.
Given that your current setup works well with an N66U both of those models are complete overkill. The AX68 has potentially higher WiFi throughput than the AX58 but both are significantly more than the N66U if you have a client that supports it.

I don't get the "6 years" reference. The N66U was released in 2011, the AX58 in 2019 and the AX68 in 2020/21.

?? Did you mean the AC68u compared to the AX58U?

Direct spec comparison of your title;

Certainly confusing here that it says the AX68 does not support 160 :(

Also in Dongs test the AX88 outperformed the AX86 for wifi 5 clients.

This isn't a question of which is overkill. The original question on the other thread I responded to was what would be a good contender today to get similar 10+ years of use out of it into the future. If you buy yesterday's technology today, you're already obsolete with little hope of getting a decade's use out of anything.