1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Could I use the coax wall plugs in my house to relocate the modem?

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by bluefire_xl, Jul 3, 2018.

  1. bluefire_xl

    bluefire_xl New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,

    Right now my router/modem is located in the basement of my house. It was located there initially so the house alarm could be connected via ethernet cable for monitoring. My dilemma right now is the wifi seems to be slow in some part of the house. Is it possible that I have a 2 way splitter after the main coax line then one end of the plug to another 3 way splitter that distributes to the house? Grab the modem and relocate it on the living room? The other end of the 2 way split I could probably buy a MoCa adapter (just started reading about this) to connect my house alarm. Not sure if this is feasible or if my internet connection will slow down.
     
  2. Kal-EL

    Kal-EL Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,526
    Location:
    Motor City, Michigan-USA
    It's possible it could work remember every time you split your losing signal the losses are printed on any good splitter. That said if your rf signal remains strong enough after all the splits and it does not raise your upstream out of spec it can be done. Probably not the best idea to daisy chain a bunch of splitters but i have seen it done.
     
  3. bluefire_xl

    bluefire_xl New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    We just recently bought the house so not sure what was the current setup. I do see a broadband drop amp being used as another splitter. Does that device help with the signal?
     
  4. MichaelCG

    MichaelCG Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    555
    Location:
    Central US
    For the alarm, consider a WiFi bridge or PowerLine adapters. The cost point of MoCa is quite a bit higher and the performance requirements for your alarm panel will be quite low.
     
  5. bluefire_xl

    bluefire_xl New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Does powerline adapters always have to be in pair? Could it work if I have one in the basement and 2 others on different places in the house?
     
  6. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838
    Location:
    texas
    Yes. I ran 3 powerline adapters for a while. They work like a hub.
     
  7. bluefire_xl

    bluefire_xl New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks for all your responses
     
  8. coxhaus

    coxhaus Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,838
    Location:
    texas
    One more point is powerline adapters are limited on speed. So if you have one of the high end packages available today they will not keep up. You can run them off a switch but not your main feed so the slower speed will not effect the overall speed of your package.
     
  9. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Messages:
    175
    Do you have any need for wifi in your basement? Because if you need it in both places, then you should probably look at an access point or extender.

    I'm not really good with coax cable, but it seems like your idea might work... but it might not be worth it. You currently have a 3 way splitter going to your modem and TVs, right? And I assume you can't relocate the Ethernet cable from the alarm company?

    I think a tech told me that the modem is typically installed after just one split, so:
    1) 2 way splitter in the basement. One side goes directly to the modem upstairs
    2) daisy chain to a 3 way splitter which goes to other TVs. (possible problem, if modem and a TV are upstairs and would need to share cable, you'd need the two way up there, and it would weaken the signal).
    3) 2x MoCa adaptors for the alarm system.