1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Couple of quick questions, maybe

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by JT Strickland, Dec 9, 2019.

  1. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    RT-AC86U primary router with Merlin 384.14 beta
    RT-AC68U for Aimesh Node, ethernet priority with stock 3.0.0.4.384_81351-gcb63868
    Small home and office arrangement, about 100 feet apart.

    Question 1: Can I attach a small NAS to my Aimesh node's usb port? If so, do I configure it through the primary router? Well, I suppose that's the only way to do it without resetting it to factory defaults?

    Question 2: PPoE is enabled on the Advanced Settings > Wan tab. I think I may have enabled it following some instructions, perhaps for setting up DNS servers, but it may have been on and I have just been overlooking it. Should I disable it?

    I have installed PuTTY, amtm, Entware, diversion, skynet, pixelserv-tls, and created a swap file in the last couple of days. I created a 2 Gb swap file on a 32 Gb thumb drive, anthough I wasn't sure what size usb drive to use. I have wanted to do it for some time, but was intimidated by the prospect, but it wasn't as difficult as I had imagined. Anyway, since then, my processors are pegged out at 97% and 96%, and the RAM is at 95%. Is this normal, or have I got something screwed up? I figured the activity would subside some with the swap file, but seems like it has increased.

    It hasn't been long since I didn't know the difference between a LAN and a WAN, and now I am screwing up perfectly good scripts! (I guess).

    I appreciate any help and advice.
    TIA,
    jts
     
  2. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    Login with putty and run this command. Paste here the first 10-15 lines to see what’s using cpu.

    Code:
    top -b -n1 | head -15
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2019
  3. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AC86U 384.14-beta1 Thu Nov 7 15:40:54 UTC 2019
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# top -b -n1
    Mem: 385124K used, 55296K free, 1372K shrd, 63320K buff, 65848K cached
    CPU: 26.9% usr 73.0% sys 0.0% nic 0.0% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% sirq
    Load average: 5.27 5.40 5.51 6/151 17344
    PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
    10034 10032 jtstrick R 3980 0.9 1 7.6 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads count
    29203 29185 jtstrick S 3980 0.9 0 7.6 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads
    3783 3780 jtstrick S 3980 0.9 0 3.8 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads
    208 2 jtstrick SW 0 0.0 0 3.8 [bcmsw_rx]
    1502 1 nobody S 39744 9.0 0 0.0 pixelserv-tls 192.168.1.2
    1130 1 jtstrick S 28036 6.3 1 0.0 amas_lib
    7112 1 jtstrick S 21280 4.8 1 0.0 mt-daapd -m
    285 1 jtstrick S 18504 4.1 1 0.0 /bin/swmdk
    1086 1 jtstrick S 13700 3.1 0 0.0 roamast
    973 1 jtstrick S 12592 2.8 0 0.0 httpd -i br0
    7111 1 jtstrick S 12492 2.8 0 0.0 minidlna -f /etc/minidlna.conf -r
    24754 7105 jtstrick S 11960 2.7 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    14178 7105 jtstrick S 11732 2.6 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    15737 7105 nobody S 11732 2.6 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7105 1 jtstrick S 11608 2.6 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7103 1 jtstrick S 11472 2.6 0 0.0 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7104 7103 jtstrick S 11172 2.5 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    921 1 jtstrick S 11036 2.5 0 0.0 nt_monitor
    1106 1 jtstrick S 10804 2.4 0 0.0 cfg_server
     
  4. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    This is what it looks like this AM:
    CaptureAsusRT-.PNG
     
  5. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    Your Sys CPU utilization is high. If you re-run the command again, are the diversion entries still at the top of the list?

    As a test, try killing those:
    Code:
    kill 10034 29203 3783
     
  6. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AC86U 384.14-beta1 Thu Nov 7 15:40:54 UTC 2019
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# top -b -n1 | head -15
    Mem: 386000K used, 54420K free, 1360K shrd, 63864K buff, 65968K cached
    CPU: 41.6% usr 58.3% sys 0.0% nic 0.0% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% sirq
    Load average: 5.39 5.51 5.53 5/150 16425
    PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
    3783 3780 jtstrick S 3980 0.9 0 8.3 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads
    29203 29185 jtstrick S 3980 0.9 1 8.3 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads
    10034 10032 jtstrick S 3980 0.9 0 4.1 {diversion} /bin/sh /opt/bin/diversion count_ads count
    1502 1 nobody S 39756 9.0 0 0.0 pixelserv-tls 192.168.1.2
    1130 1 jtstrick S 28036 6.3 1 0.0 amas_lib
    7112 1 jtstrick S 21280 4.8 0 0.0 mt-daapd -m
    285 1 jtstrick S 18504 4.1 1 0.0 /bin/swmdk
    1086 1 jtstrick S 13700 3.1 0 0.0 roamast
    973 1 jtstrick S 12716 2.8 0 0.0 httpd -i br0
    7111 1 jtstrick S 12492 2.8 0 0.0 minidlna -f /etc/minidlna.conf -r
    24754 7105 jtstrick S 11960 2.7 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf

    This is after the kill command:

    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# kill 10034 29203 3783
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# top -b -n1 | head -15
    Mem: 381232K used, 59188K free, 1360K shrd, 63892K buff, 66020K cached
    CPU: 0.0% usr 0.0% sys 0.0% nic 100% idle 0.0% io 0.0% irq 0.0% sirq
    Load average: 4.80 5.38 5.49 2/139 6871
    PID PPID USER STAT VSZ %VSZ CPU %CPU COMMAND
    1502 1 nobody S 39756 9.0 0 0.0 pixelserv-tls 192.168.1.2
    1130 1 jtstrick S 28036 6.3 0 0.0 amas_lib
    7112 1 jtstrick S 21280 4.8 1 0.0 mt-daapd -m
    285 1 jtstrick S 18504 4.1 1 0.0 /bin/swmdk
    1086 1 jtstrick S 13700 3.1 0 0.0 roamast
    973 1 jtstrick S 12860 2.9 0 0.0 httpd -i br0
    7111 1 jtstrick S 12492 2.8 0 0.0 minidlna -f /etc/minidlna.conf -r
    24754 7105 jtstrick S 11960 2.7 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7105 1 jtstrick S 11608 2.6 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/smbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7103 1 jtstrick S 11472 2.6 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    7104 7103 jtstrick S 11172 2.5 1 0.0 /usr/sbin/nmbd -D -s /etc/smb.conf
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root#

    I just noticed there is a beta 3 available. I am running beta 1. Does that have anything to do with it maybe?
    Do I need to remove the usb or anything to flash? I apologize for my ignorance, this is new to me.
    thanks again for the help,
    jts
     
  7. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    The kill settled down the cpu's, but the ram is still pretty high use:
    upload_2019-12-10_8-28-46.png
     
  8. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    If you run diversion and choose the "ac" (Count ads) function, does it finish or does it hang? I don't think it's likely to be related to the beta firmware. Maybe your USB or dnsmasq.log file has some problems. But running ac interactively might help. Otherwise, check CPU utilization again after 17:20 your time when the next count ads job will run each day.

    Memory is fine. It's there to be used. Tools page will tell you how much is used for buffers and cache, which will be given back if the system really needs it.
     
  9. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    Thanks. Where do I learn what the codes mean within PuTTY? Manual doesn't say that I could find. Is it an experience thing that one just has to learn?
    In the meantime, I will flash beta 3. I probably should have waited for the release, but I wanted to be compatible with the latest stock asus f/w in the node.
     
  10. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    Within Diversion? You would find that "update ads counter" function if you press the o key (more options) on the main menu. I just gave you the shortcut.
     
  11. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    When I first ran diversion command this morning, it said skynet wanted to step up to standard+ list, so I accepted. It took a while, but finished, then when I ran the "ac" command:

    What do you want to do? ac
    /opt/bin/grep: line 2: syntax error: unexpected ")"
    /opt/bin/grep: line 2: syntax error: unexpected ")"
    /opt/bin/diversion: /opt/share/diversion/file/write-config.div: line 1: can't open X▒z_▒kbo▒C^▒▒▒▒غ▒▒
    ▒T▒z▒p▒铗9▒Bl▒▒:k▒3▒-▒▒▒▒▒a▒▒W▒W١▒VO▒E▒Ϫ▒С▒6: no such file
    /opt/bin/diversion: /opt/share/diversion/file/write-config.div: line 2: ▒gUEw▒▒hd▒▒▒V▒!▒94xm▒,▒▒ƠR?▒▒M*X▒: not found
    /opt/bin/diversion: /opt/share/diversion/file/write-config.div: line 3: C▒C: not found
    /opt/bin/diversion: /opt/share/diversion/file/write-config.div: line 4: syntax error: bad function name
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root#
     
  12. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    Actually, I was talking about the entries in the "log", I assume, when I ran that first command:
    Code:
    top -b -n1 | head -15
    I need to go study the notes of these scripts more.

    I would like to thank You, OzarkEdge, Grisu, and others, for the help and direction in the past, and L&LD for the step-by-step guide without which I couldn't have even got a swap file created, much less loaded custom scripts. May your days be many and your troubles be few!
    jts
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
    L&LD likes this.
  13. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    That's totally whacked. Never seen that before. Maybe @thelonelycoder has seen it. You might be better off posting that output in the Diversion thread.
     
  14. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    OK, I will ask there. I wish I knew this stuff better. It's probably something stoopid that I have done, Do you think maybe my usb is bad?
    This from amtm:
    Enter option 1
    /opt/bin/diversion: line 1: ▒▒▒A: not found
    /opt/bin/diversion: line 2: syntax error: unexpected ")"
    amtm 3.0 by thelonelycoder
     
  15. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    12,608
    @JT Strickland, is it possible to show us an image instead? That may have more clues for us.
     
  16. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    11,663
    Location:
    UK
    My guess is that the filesystem on your USB drive is corrupted. I would recommend that you use AMTM to format the disk again and reinstall everything from scratch. Do you see any read or write errors in the router's syslog (System Log - General Log)?

    I also recommend that you install AMTM's "Disk check script" so that any future corruption is repaired at boot time, hopefully before it's done too much damage.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
    thelonelycoder and L&LD like this.
  17. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    Sorry, guys, I have been gone for a while.
    I scanned the disk with the asus usb utility on the RT-AC86U and it didn't find anything. Next I will start over with a new disk and format it in AMTM as suggested.
    Here's a snip of the system log right afterward (Other screenshots to follow):
    upload_2019-12-10_20-35-44.png
     
  18. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    Well I starter over with a new 16gb usb drive, and the system log looks different, anyway, and the processors aren't wide open for now.
    I did one thing different this time that I missed before: The program told me to import the pixelserve-tls certificate into my brower etc, so I used the supplied 192.168.1.2/ca.crt into firefox. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to check websites or emails, so I selected both. I am unsure what else to import certificate into, or even how.

    I had rebooted router a couple of times, but now couldn't get on the internet or email, so I was afraid I had screwed that up, but after rebooting the windows PC all is well now, as far as I can tell.
    Here's what the last part of the router log looks like now: (If those mac addresses are giving away something I shouldn't, someone please let me know. I hope they're harmless)
    upload_2019-12-10_21-56-52.png
     
  19. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,940
    Location:
    USA
    See the Pixelserv wiki for instructions:
    https://github.com/kvic-z/pixelserv...ificate#import-pixelserv-ca-on-client-devices
     
  20. JT Strickland

    JT Strickland Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Messages:
    194
    Thanks, Davd14305, the only thing I did different was select "email" and "websites" in firefox, and I tried to import it into Mozilla Thunderbird, but it didn't like that certificate.
    I appreciate everything. I want to install a few more scripts, but I think I need to study them and the ones I already have some more first.
    It must have been a bad drive, or I hope that's what it was. Both AMTM and the Router gave the original one a clean bill of health.
    jts

    PS: One other question, if I may: It seemed like skynet was already installed, and I didn't install it again. Perhaps it was running from the jfss partition, and I need to uninstall or reinstall it? thanks.