What's new

Custom firewall-start script for OpenVPN (country allow list)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

zmaster

New Around Here
Hi guys,

I've been a reader of this forum for quite some time and I have a RT-AC68U for almost 2.5 years now but flashed Merlin's firmware last week. My reason was to flash was OpenVPN 2.4.x. My Synology was a bit behind and I don’t like services being exposed to the internet when they are not on a pretty recent release.

So since I knew the existence of custom scripts I started hardening my OpenVPN setup. I’m a Microsoft consultant by nature so bash, iptables and unix commands are completely new to me. The thing that bothered me is that I saw multiple connection attempts on my OpenVPN port (running on tcp/443) from lots of different countries. Lots of them are port scanners, I know but still.. :).

With the help of this forum and my friend Google I modified firewall-start scripts to only allow connections from The Netherlands since I only use my VPN connection from my own country. I thought of sharing this with everyone on this forum, in case anyone wants to use it. I have not yet copied it to my RT-AC68U but I’ve tested it on a Centos VM. I would like to hear from you guys if I’m working in the right direction and if the stuff I made, makes any sense.

Like the last line contained -z "$(iptables-save | grep AllowedCountries)", I have changed that to -z "$(iptables -S | grep AllowedCountries)". I saw no reason why it should be saved in order to check if the rule was already there.

I also got two questions:
  • The zone files which are downloaded to /jffs/ipset_lists, will they be removed after a reboot? Because I want to work with a fresh zone file every reboot.