1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Custom firmware build for Orbi RBK50/RBK53 (RBR50, RBS50) v. 9.2.5.0.43SF-HW

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Voxel, Dec 16, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    Continuation of

    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-orbi-rbk50-v-2-5-0-42sf-hw.60308/

    New version of my custom firmware build: 9.2.5.0.43SF-HW.

    Changes (vs 2.5.0.42SF-HW):

    1. Support of HiLink modem (3G/LTE: in RNDIS/CDC mode) is added.
    2. WireGuard v. 20191212 is added (kernel module + "wg" utility).
    3. Issue with telnet login is fixed.
    4. Dropbear (SSH) is changed to allow password login (use WebGUI password for "root" user).
    5. DnsCrypt Proxy v2 is upgraded to version 2.0.35.
    6. stubby config is changed (not so strict requirements to the server).
    7. e2fsprogs: CVE-2019-5094 and specific DNI patches are added.
    8. bzip2 package is upgraded to version 1.0.8 and enabled instead of busybox version.
    9. curl package is upgraded 7.66.0->7.67.0.
    10. libnl-tiny package is upgraded 0.1->2019-10-29.
    11. proftpd package is upgraded 1.3.3->1.3.6 plus CVE-2019-12815 patch.
    12. Several NG/DNI bugs are fixed.
    13. 14 not used now packages are disabled.
    14. Debug: Possibility to separate SSIDs (2.4GHz/5GHz).
    15. Default Congestion Control Algorithm is changed to YeAH.
    16. Host tools: 19 components are upgraded to allow compilation on Debian Buster.
    17. Numeration of firmware is changed (starting from "9") to avoid firmware auto updates from NG (stock).

    (a) To set a separate SSID for the 5 GHz network on your Orbi RBR:
    • From telnet/ssh console run
    Code:
    nvram set wla_ssid="NAME OF YOUR 5GHZ NETWORK"
    nvram set allow_diff_ssid=1
    nvram commit
    
    • Reboot your RBR and RBS
    • Set “allow_diff_ssid” in nvram to “0” to disable separate SSIDs.
    NOTE: It is not recommended to separate the SSIDs. Your connection could be unstable. Under your own risk.
    (b) WireGuard (everything from console, for advanced users):
    To use it you should first load the kernel module:
    Code:
    insmod /lib/modules/3.14.77/wireguard.ko
    
    After this you should use the commands: ip, route, iptables, wg. See:

    https://www.wireguard.com/quickstart/

    NOTE: Your iptables rules for WireGuard should be included into /opt/scripts/firewall-start.sh script, see my QuickStart.txt​

    (c) SSH: it is set to allow password login. User is: root. Password is: your WebGUI password.

    The link is:

    https://www.voxel-firmware.com (thanks to vladlenas for his help with hosting).

    Voxel.
     
    L&LD, vladlenas, W1lliam and 2 others like this.
  2. alceasan

    alceasan Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you Voxel!! Login with password is working again, at least on SSH (I haven'nt tried on telnet). Starting to play with it :)
     
    Voxel likes this.
  3. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    USA
    Just curious why there is a v9 in the FW version? I presume this was intended? Just curious.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    12,593
    @e38BimmerFN, that is so it can't auto-update to stock. ;)
     
    Voxel likes this.
  5. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    USA
    Ah I see...
     
  6. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    USA
    kamoj likes this.
  7. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    2.5.1.8 was released after I prepared my version. So I decided to release my version anyway. There are plans to integrate the changes from 2.5.1.8 but it is really not so easy to do it soon. I do process this version (GPL sources) since yesterday (2.5.1.8) and I've seen the changes in device name processing (net-scan package is disabled and attached-devices package is used now). But there are other changes. Such integration requires a lot of efforts and time from me.

    Voxel.
     
    Gar, kamoj, anhrzg and 2 others like this.
  8. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,071
    Location:
    USA
    Yes I was aware of this. Just wanted to post about this being available. Seems it working well for me and others. Just needs your loving touch is all. Hehe. o_O
    We wait patiently.

    Thank you. ;)
     
    Voxel likes this.
  9. alceasan

    alceasan Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    So far so good with this version, I already have dnscrypt working with adblock filtering, thank you Voxel!

    Anyway, now I'm trying to get a way of persist data into the RBR50 between reboots without using an USB drive (my model and the new ones doesn't have an USB port anymore). I read in a blog that there are some partitions on the router that are mounted rw, and I tried putting a file on one of /mnt/bitdefender which is mounted as ubi filesystem:

    Code:
    ubi0:vol_armor on /tmp/mnt/bitdefender type ubifs (rw,relatime)
    After this, I rebooted the RBK50 to check if the file survived the reboot, but something strange happened and my router suffered a reset (I made a previous config backup, so no problem). Any idea why this could happen? Maybe some security check the router does on every boot?
     
    Voxel likes this.
  10. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    There are some partitions, yes. And some of them are not mounted. Try to play with this one:

    /dev/mmcblk0p30

    I'd not touch specific partitions mounted for bitdefender or circle. Just necessary to test...

    Code:
     mount /dev/mmcblk0p30 /mnt/myfiles
    
    Voxel.
     
  11. alceasan

    alceasan Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2019
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Voxel,

    My RBR50 only have MTD block devices. These are the devices and free space available (except mounted ones):

    Code:
    /dev/mtdblock0 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock1 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock2 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock3 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock4 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock5 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock6 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock7 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock8 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock9 2.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock10 2.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock11 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock12 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock13 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock14 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock15 .25 MB
    /dev/mtdblock16 1.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock17 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock18 .25 MB
    /dev/mtdblock19 5.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock20 .50 MB
    /dev/mtdblock21 147.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock22 50.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock23 3.75 MB
    /dev/mtdblock24 46.25 MB
    /dev/mtdblock25 5.87 MB
    /dev/mtdblock26 50.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock27 3.75 MB
    /dev/mtdblock28 46.25 MB
    /dev/mtdblock29 244.00 MB
    /dev/mtdblock30 2.05 MB
    /dev/mtdblock31 2.05 MB
    blockdev: can't open '/dev/mtdblock32': Device or resource busy
    /dev/mtdblock32 MB
    /dev/mtdblock33 .60 MB
    blockdev: can't open '/dev/mtdblock34': Device or resource busy
    /dev/mtdblock34 MB
    blockdev: can't open '/dev/mtdblock35': Device or resource busy
    /dev/mtdblock35 MB
    /dev/mtdblock36 2.05 MB
    /dev/mtdblock37 5.08 MB
    blockdev: can't open '/dev/mtdblock38': Device or resource busy
    /dev/mtdblock38 MB
    I also looked into /proc/mtd trying to find out what are the rest of partitions for:
    Code:
    dev:    size   erasesize  name
    mtd0: 00100000 00020000 "0:SBL1"
    mtd1: 00100000 00020000 "0:MIBIB"
    mtd2: 00100000 00020000 "0:BOOTCONFIG"
    mtd3: 00100000 00020000 "0:QSEE"
    mtd4: 00100000 00020000 "0:QSEE_1"
    mtd5: 00080000 00020000 "0:CDT"
    mtd6: 00080000 00020000 "0:CDT_1"
    mtd7: 00080000 00020000 "0:BOOTCONFIG1"
    mtd8: 00080000 00020000 "0:APPSBLENV"
    mtd9: 00200000 00020000 "0:APPSBL"
    mtd10: 00200000 00020000 "0:APPSBL_1"
    mtd11: 00080000 00020000 "0:ART"
    mtd12: 00080000 00020000 "0:ART.bak"
    mtd13: 00100000 00020000 "config"
    mtd14: 00080000 00020000 "boarddata1"
    mtd15: 00040000 00020000 "boarddata2"
    mtd16: 00100000 00020000 "pot"
    mtd17: 00080000 00020000 "boarddata1.bak"
    mtd18: 00040000 00020000 "boarddata2.bak"
    mtd19: 00500000 00020000 "language"
    mtd20: 00080000 00020000 "cert"
    mtd21: 09300000 00020000 "ntgrdata"
    mtd22: 03200000 00020000 "firmware"
    mtd23: 003c0000 00020000 "kernel"
    mtd24: 02e40000 00020000 "rootfs"
    mtd25: 005e0000 00020000 "rootfs_data"
    mtd26: 03200000 00020000 "firmware2"
    mtd27: 003c0000 00020000 "kernel2"
    mtd28: 02e40000 00020000 "rootfs2"
    mtd29: 0f400000 00020000 "reserved"
    mtd30: 0020f000 0001f000 "vol_traffic"
    mtd31: 0020f000 0001f000 "vol_traffic.bak"
    mtd32: 00516000 0001f000 "vol_devtable"
    mtd33: 0009b000 0001f000 "vol_oopsdump"
    mtd34: 01e08000 0001f000 "vol_circle"
    mtd35: 02d0c000 0001f000 "vol_ntgr"
    mtd36: 0020f000 0001f000 "vol_rae"
    mtd37: 00516000 0001f000 "vol_arlo"
    mtd38: 02815000 0001f000 "vol_armor"
    My /dev/mtdblock30 has only 2.05 MB available (it should be enough for storing some scripts and config), but it seems its being used for vol_traffic.
     
  12. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    Well. I rather cannot help with this. You should test it yourself... Different models. I was not aware of such differences...

    Voxel.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  13. exsmogger

    exsmogger Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Voxel, thanks very much for your efforts. I flashed my Orbi and satellite with your firmware and it all works great. I'm happy you activated SSH so I can leave Telnet turned off. I had some trouble getting Proftpd to work as it wouldn't respond on port 21. I changed it to port 2001 in the config file and it now works perfectly. Obviously something else is using port 21, but no big deal since it works.

    I have a question about the Circle service. I have all parental controls turned off in the GUI, but I see circled as a running process as per the netstat command:

    [email protected]:~# netstat -natp
    Active Internet connections (servers and established)
    Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:33344 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:7777 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 23534/hyd
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:14369 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11618/xagent
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:20005 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:4455 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11692/upagent
    tcp 0 0 x.y.z.1:7272 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 13686/circled
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 8951/lighttpd
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:4466 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 11692/upagent
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:53 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 13765/dnsmasq
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:22 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 13842/dropbear
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:631 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 19793/KC_PRINT
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:443 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 8951/lighttpd
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54421 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54422 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54426 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54427 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54419 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54420 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54424 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 272 x.y.z.1:22 x.y.z.100:57748 ESTABLISHED 23821/dropbear
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54425 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:54423 127.0.0.1:7777 TIME_WAIT -
    tcp 0 0 x.y.z.65:58910 52.26.86.12:443 ESTABLISHED 11618/xagent
    tcp 0 0 :::80 :::* LISTEN 8951/lighttpd
    tcp 0 0 :::2001 :::* LISTEN 8462/proftpd: (acce
    tcp 0 0 :::53 :::* LISTEN 13765/dnsmasq
    tcp 0 0 :::22 :::* LISTEN 13842/dropbear
    tcp 0 0 :::443 :::* LISTEN 8951/lighttpd

    Since I'm not using the circled service, would it hurt anything to disable or kill it? Thanks again for your good work.

    exsmogger
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2019
    Voxel and kamoj like this.
  14. BANsOnLn

    BANsOnLn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Looking forward to checking this out! Thanks Voxel. So to install this, all I do is GUI into main router and select manual firmware and it will push to the satellites as well?
     
    Voxel and kamoj like this.
  15. exsmogger

    exsmogger Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    The satellite should be upgraded first. It is assigned its own LAN address which is listed under Attached Devices in the GUI. Enter this address into your browser and use the same login as the main router. Just follow the prompts for a manual upgrade. When the satellite is finished upgrading, login to the router and manually upgrade its firmware.
     
    BANsOnLn likes this.
  16. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    Not quite so. There is an option in main router's GUI, manual firmware update, to update the satellite firmware. Selecting check box(es) of your satellite(s) and pressing the button [Update].

    Voxel.
     
    kamoj and BANsOnLn like this.
  17. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,632
    Well. I am still studying this Orbi firmware. There are a lot of such "ghosts" in the stock fw to fix. For example, it tries to connect NG site to "Update ReadyCLOUD" when no ReadyCLOUD is available yet (even on NG site to download). So if you check the stock version you can see in process list something like "/sbin/cloud update" (fixed in my version). The same circle, or armor (even if they are not used)... proftpd is included but no possibility to enable it in GUI. Samba. hotplug etc. Fixing by me: step by step.

    Temporary: you can change the file /etc/init.d/circle_init adding "exit" immediately in the boot() function. Using my scheme with /overlay on USB.

    Will be fixed in the next version.

    Thank you for reporting. Please report other issues to fix if you find them.

    Voxel.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  18. Astaroth_PoD

    Astaroth_PoD New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Great firmware!
    I am interested in making it work with proper mesh, preferably using 802.11s or even IBSS or ad-hoc.
    Any chance you could include "iw" in the next firmware?
     
    Voxel likes this.
  19. exsmogger

    exsmogger Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    I was able to kill the circled process. It turned out that killing the process that was listening (13686) didn't work as it would restart itself with a new PID. I don't know a lot about Linux, but I decided there had to be a parent process that was monitoring the process that was listening. I then ran pidof circled and saw two PIDs. I killed the one that wasn't listed in netstat and that did the trick. circled is not running and everything is still working fine.

    In looking at the circled log at /tmp/circled.log I saw it was making a check for updated firmware every 2 hours to https://http.fw.updates1.netgear.com/sw-apps/parental-control/circle/rbr50/mr22/ It looks like it was doing no harm, but why should this process be running at all when I have it disabled in the GUI?

    I know circled will come back when the Orbi reboots, but this is good enough for now.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  20. BANsOnLn

    BANsOnLn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Talk about excited. This firmware finally allows me to have 1 single SSID and my 5G devices connect to the correct network. No more Roku's, iPhones or xbox's on 2.4G. So far they are connecting to 5G like they should using a single SSID!
     
    Voxel and kamoj like this.