What's new

DDWRT Command Shell or Tomato System Commands equivalent with Merlin?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

brtravel

Occasional Visitor
Hi guys and gals, I'm new to Merlin and not terribly tech savvy with networking stuff, so I'd really appreciate your help with this issue (and I did try to search here and google first).

I want to run two routers, one with a VPN, one without. I got this setup working well with the first router (connected to the modem) being an ASUS AC66, and the second (connected to the first) being an N12 with Tomato. This video helped me set that up, and even though it's DDWRT, it all applied to Tomato just fine: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yg-V0gMp7vU

I haven't been real happy with the VPN running on the N12/Tomato router, and I've now put Merlin on my AC66 and have found the OpenVPN Client works much better there. So I would like to switch the order, with the N12 connected to the modem, and the N66 running the VPN and connected to the N12.

The problem is I can't figure out how to run in the AC66 the command at 5:37 in the video, which makes the routers play nicely together. The video shows in DDWRT you go to Admin>Command Shell for it. In Tomato I found it in Tools>System Commands. Where is the equivalent in Asus-Merlin?

Thank you!

The command shell was removed from the Merlin code a while back for security reasons. To enter commands under Merlin, you need to use either telnet or an SSH client (like Putty) to enter router commands.