1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Device Full

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by laajr, Apr 9, 2020.

  1. laajr

    laajr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Opening a separate thread relating to "device full" issue. I had originally posted this issue in the AMTM thread and was found when trying to update AMTM. What I found was that the " /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer" file is taking most of the memory space and would not allow AMTM update (device full).

    Appreciate if anyone could shed some light on what is going on and why the traffic analyzer is causing memory full error.

    Also, what command would I use to erase just this db file without affecting other data in memory?
     
  2. Martineau

    Martineau Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,331
    Location:
    UK
    see this
     
    Vexira likes this.
  3. Stephen Harrington

    Stephen Harrington Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @laajr it is the NVRAM /jffs partition which is filling up, not “memory” (RAM).
    At least on my current setup, 386.16_0, with Traffic Analyzer Statistics turned on, /jffs/.sys/TrafficAnalyzer/TrafficAnalyzer.db appears to grow until there is no free space on /jffs. At that point the router (RT -AC86U in my case) may crash or other aberrant behaviour may be observed due to the lack of space.

    This is despite me pointing Traffic Monitoring:Save History Location (under Tools, Other Settings) to a Custom Location (folder) on my external USB SSD drive. Something else does appear there, but not the actual db file, so I’m probably misunderstanding the intention of this option.

    Can’t say if it behaved this way (filling NVAM) prior to 384.16 as I never had occasion to turn on Traffic Statistics before trying it about 2 weeks ago.

    Perhaps @RMerlin or others may have a comment or solution?

    Edit: I see @Martineau has already pointed us to an earlier relevant thread whilst I was typing, thanks!
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2020
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    11,663
    Location:
    UK
    That file is meant to be large (~30MB). See the other threads about it. The real question should be "what else is consuming the remaining space?".
     
    Vexira likes this.
  5. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    32,985
    Location:
    Canada
    Normally, TrafficAnalyzer database is supposed to get truncated regularly to a max size of 30 MB. I've seen cases however where for some reason purging of older entries wasn't working as expected.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  6. laajr

    laajr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    My TrafficAnalyzer.db=31.5MB
    TrafficAnalyzer.db-journal=5.8MB
    nt_center.db=5.6MB
    WebHistory.db=5.1MB
    These are the four largest files
     
  7. Stephen Harrington

    Stephen Harrington Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I read (on Tools page) total space on JFFS is 48MB (for my RT-AC86U at least) so you must be running close to the edge if those numbers are true?
     
  8. laajr

    laajr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Yep, mine shows 48MB, 48MB (AC86U). It sounds like TrafficAnalyzer.db is what it should be at ~31.5MB. So other items are eating up the NVRam .
     
  9. Stephen Harrington

    Stephen Harrington Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @laajr
    Since my rebuild and cleanup a couple of nights ago on my AC86U, no Traffic Stats running, it's looking much healthier.

    JFFS 6.57 / 48.00 MB

    Aiming to keep it that way for now at least! :)
     
  10. laajr

    laajr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Did you "format JFFS partition at next boot" to clean up? What other areas of the router would this affect?
     
  11. Stephen Harrington

    Stephen Harrington Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @laajr
    Yes I did do a “format JFFS at next boot” at some point.
    I had to get the router going again pretty fast to placate the household.
    I take Config and JFFS backups at regular intervals before I make major changes.
    In this case I had saved both after installing 384.16 but before I turned on Traffic Stats, so I restored those to get going again. I then cleaned up a few other minor things that had accumulated over time that I was confident I could get rid of with no ill effects. So far so good, router running well and back on track. I blame myself anyway for “fiddling” and turning on the Traffic Statistics when I didn’t need to and probably wouldn’t use much in practice. :(
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2020