1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

DHCP error.

Discussion in 'Routers' started by pcmarc, May 20, 2019.

  1. pcmarc

    pcmarc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Hello,

    I have upgraded my router from 384.7.2 to the latest firmware 384.11_2
    After upgrading i found in my DHCP list the mac address of my router with ip 169.254.39.163

    So i disconnect all cables / devices
    Reset Router
    Still got same problem....

    didn't had that problem with 384.7.2 firmware.

    Any idea where this could came from, or how to fix this ..??

    Thx for your help.
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    9,371
    Flashing from such an older version it is recommended that you do a full reset to factory defaults and then minimally and manually configure the router to secure it and connect to your ISP. Do not use a saved backup config settings file.

    Please see my signature for the link to the M&M Config guide to get your router to a good/known state again.

    Btw, what is your router model? :)
     
  3. pcmarc

    pcmarc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Hello L&LD,

    Router Model: RT-AC87U
    Also try with full reset router true the admin panel - Restore/Save/Upload Setting (checked
    Initialize all the settings an click restore) Then just configure my ISP.

    Problem still occurs...
     
    L&LD likes this.
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,548
    Location:
    UK
  5. pcmarc

    pcmarc New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    indeed that's my problem.

    Seems not to be a real problem, will maybe solved in the next release (if possible)