What's new

DNS Server

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

asusrocks

Occasional Visitor
I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!

If this is not possible, how is everyone else forcing their home network to use for example the google dns servers versus the ISP defaults?

I would like to manually assign my DNS server through my Asus N66u Router. I am pretty new to this so I have been doing some reading. So I go into the N66u Router interface and for example if I want to use the google dns servers 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 and under WAN I input these 2 dns servers after changing to Manual set up. I click apply and then when I check in a cmd prompt ipconfig/all my dns server is still showing my ISP dns Servers. What am I doing wrong and what do I need to do to get these dns servers to stick on my entire network? Also is there a suggestion or tool you guys are using to see what are the best dns servers to use for my location? Thanks !!

You have to renew your lease for your computer to start using the new DNS.