1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Do you reboot often your router ?

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by mikele2019, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. mikele2019

    mikele2019 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Hi all
    I would like to know if you have to reboot often your Asus router to be ok ?
    Please let your model and number of rebooting you have to .. !
    Thanks !
     
  2. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,002
    Except for when you first set it up or add scripts (if using RMerlin firmware) and reboot it twice afterward, you are masking a problem or issue if you're rebooting the router on a schedule. :)
     
  3. dosborne

    dosborne Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Potentially, but only if there really is a problem :)

    I have mine scheduled to reboot once a day "just in case". As there are no reboot issues with the AX88U, why not? Doesn't hurt anything to start fresh. But, if you are running a problematic router, or use a USB device (and script and stuff - which I don't), your mileage may vary :)
     
    L&LD likes this.
  4. Butterfly Bones

    Butterfly Bones Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Not nearly as often as this question gets asked. :D :p :) :cool:
    How often I reboot is based on RMerlin updates, more often during alpha/beta cycles, much less often during stable cycles. Right now I am at 9 days plus uptime, alpha version before was at 16 days uptime. Typical uptime for me is 15-60+ days. I love long uptimes :D

    RT-AC86U - Asuswrt-Merlin 384.15_alpha1-g4fecf771de.
     
    dave14305 and L&LD like this.
  5. Sanna1967

    Sanna1967 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    Canada,PQ
    Never
    I flash, factory reset,reconfig, reboot.... and i forget it :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2020
    Pak Kriss, Raphie, royarcher and 3 others like this.
  6. mikele2019

    mikele2019 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Wooooooooo I bought an Asus AC86U because I'm boring to reboot my ISP Zyxel Router once a month and I see that its the same ... as you say all... I think I will get it back to Best Buy... 5 answers only 1 do not reboot .. its very disturbing.. I will wait for some more answer but I think all router are the same regarding the need to restart to refresh memory ... I'm so disappointed I am very nostalgic when I remember my old wrt54 that I never ever restarted in its useful life.. time change and not for better..
     
    Butterfly Bones likes this.
  7. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    11,002
    Instead of making a decision on what others are saying, what about testing in your environment and deciding from there?

    Many, many people have no issues at all and don't join/comment on an internet forum yay or nay. ;)
     
    Dave Parker, royarcher and dave14305 like this.
  8. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    USA
    Many people on this forum (including me) tinker with our routers too much, so we aren’t a good population to ask the question. Ask the people who run ASUS routers with Merlin firmware but don’t post on the forums because everything is fine. ;)
     
  9. slytho

    slytho Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    I have been rebooting my router(s) on each single day for the last 12 years or so. Reason is simple: I turn off power during night time. And I haven't had a single issue with rebooting. In the first years I simply powered it off and then I switched to shutting it down properly before turning off power.
     
  10. Smokindog

    Smokindog Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    235
    Location:
    The Great State of Texas
    I have a reboot scheduled weekly.
     
  11. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14,155
    I've never (ok, very seldom) have had to reboot any router I've owned.
    DSL modem, yes. Router no.

    But I don't tinker with it and typically have only one, maybe two devices simultaneously using Wi-Fi. Also don't do torrenting, large file transfers, have cameras, etc.
     
    Sanna1967 likes this.
  12. dosborne

    dosborne Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Messages:
    454
    Location:
    /dev/null
    There's a HUGE difference between "having to" and just "doing" it. I got in the habit of a nightly reboot back in the 1980's when I ran a BBS. I don't have any particular "need" to reboot now, I just see no reason not to reboot nightly. On the other hand, my NAS units run for months between reboots. A whole different category in my mind.
     
  13. mikele2019

    mikele2019 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Well thanks to all. I checked few forums and I get many answers / opinons and this router seem to be have many major issue.
    This device sometimes power off itself or reboot alone (due to the power supply and cord I think - I had same issue with android box in past where I changed the power supply to fix it) and certainly very insufficient memory and this point is a shame considering the price ... https://www.snbforums.com/threads/ac86u-sometimes-powers-completely-off-during-reboot.48296/
    Anyways I saw many things that I would like to avoid because I already have a ISP router with need to reboot once a month due to intensive download/torrent/IPTV...
    I was very bored about rebooting my free ISP router once a month so I bought this AC86U today at best buy store but for all this reasons I will bring it back tomorrow morning.
    I'm looking for something more solid and stable and this router seem to be not. For now I can live with my ISP router Zyxel with reboot once a month.
    Thanks to all for your opinions and comments and good luck
     
  14. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Відправився на риболовлю
    Never reboot unless there is a problem ( first line of troubleshooting) or flashing new firmware.
     
  15. bitsbytes

    bitsbytes Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2019
    Messages:
    86
    I reboot once a week. I don't really have to but just like every OS a reboot every now and then help things run smoothly.
     
    dosborne likes this.
  16. GuruGuy

    GuruGuy Guest

    there was another thread with some commentary on router rebooting and adverse effects it may have on the components inside the unit. The heating and cooling may affect the soldering, etc. Others can chime in with any details if they remember.
     
  17. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,085
    Location:
    Відправився на риболовлю
    That is complete nonsense, circuits/components and devices are designed to cope with switching and power fluctuations. How would TV's , radios, PC's , phones etc. survive?
     
    dosborne likes this.
  18. Smokey613

    Smokey613 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Redneck Riviera, USA
    I only reboot if I am testing scripts or making major changes in the configuration. So far I guess I have been lucky as my new RT-AC86U that replaced my rock solid RT-AC68U has not exhibited any gui reboot issues after the first day of setup. I hope this reliability continues.
     
  19. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    USA
    I only reboot a router after upgrading the firmware.

    The cable modem, routers, switches, atas, workstations, monitors, cordless peripherals, speakers, printer, scanner... are all ON 24x7; are all on a UPS except the speakers, printer, and scanner; and all sleep in a low power state except the network bits... the network is always up!

    Edit: Funny enough, Spectrum Internet just went out for about an hour, likely due to the heavy snow around here. I wish stupid Android was smart enough to switch over from WiFi to cellular data to keep a softphone online during an Internet outage.

    OE
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  20. Smokey613

    Smokey613 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2019
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Redneck Riviera, USA
    Same here. Everything is connected via wifi. I have 20 devices. 5 Echo devices, hue light bulbs, Bond hub, Amazon plugs, ISP cable modem, printer, laptops, AppleTV, 2 Firestick 4K. All but the printers and smart plugs are on several ups devices.