What's new

Does Thecus have "personal cloud" feature?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

flowrider

Regular Contributor
Hello all,
I'm looking at purchasing the N5550 but have not been able to find out if it has a personal cloud feature similar to dropbox. I currently have a 2 bay Synology but need more drive space so I've been looking for 4+ bay units.

It's unclear. The N5550 is fairly old and doesn't have an OS6 firmware. I'll ping my contact to reply.

I have 2 - 3tb drives in Raid 1 but I have 5 of them!! Hence the reason to get a 4+ bay NAS instead. I'm a photographer who dabbles in video. I have about 2.5tb of raw images that I keep on the NAS and on my Smugmug acccount I have about 200 gigs of images and video (mostly images). I do cull quite a bit but would like to have more expandability.

I posted in the NAS buying advice section as well about a few NAS units I'm looking at. Price is a concern for me.
N5550 - mainly because of the fast speeds, atom processor and expandable ram
QNAP TS-431 - great OS but only 512mb of ram and an ARM processor
WD EX4 - easy to work with UI but slow.

I want to really like the Thecus but a bit worried after hearing numerous complaints about tech support, lack of updates, and I'd like it to be accessible from outside my own lan (personal cloud).

Edit: Just looked at the Asustor AS-304T as well. It looks very nice for the price.

Last edited:
To add a bit more information.
I'd like hot swapability and auto raid expansion. I don't need the NAS to do any transcoding but I'd really like to get the most out of the gigabit wiring that I have in the house.