What's new

Equipment/Network spec help, please!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

w4cbl

New Around Here
Hi! I could use some help spec'ing a new Home Network. I am tired of weak Consumer solutions and am seeking a better way. I am a former UNIX admin with LOTS of pre-dhcp networking experience. :) I want to DCHP pass reserved IPs to each device by MAC address, and access control all wifi devices also by MAC address. I'm not inexperienced with pulling and terminating cable, and will buy best in class materials/tools to do so.

Currently my setup:

AT&T Gigabit Fiber with Arris BGW210 modem/AC router in IP-Passthrough mode with Wifi OFF, and a Netgear R7800 AC router/AP and one AmpliFi MeshPoint HD (AC). This has provided barely adequate service, particularly with heavy client loads or high bandwidth usage. AT&T is sending a new modem/AX router (Arris BGW320) and will arrive next week. My home is 2200sf (main floor) with a full basement. 1972 construction with brick outer walls and standard 2x4 and sheetrock interior walls. Basically, a rectangle 85 feet by 35 feet. The AT&T fiber drop and Netgear router is located in the basement at one end of the house and the AmpliFi MeshPoint HD is on the main floor at the other end of the house. I'm frankly shocked that this works at all, but it was all I could do at the time. The major problem in managing this setup is I cannot tell which clients are attaching to what AP, and the Netgear access control and attached devices functionality is abysmal.